Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Mercury
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Police Around the World (Restored & Expanded) LP & DVD (Silver Vinyl)

The Police

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition Silver Vinyl LP + DVD!
First Time Available on DVD!
Restored Picture & Remastered Audio of The Police's Documentary of their First World Tour!
Includes 9 Live Tracks Previously Unavailable on LP!

Around the World Restored & Expanded follows The Police on their first world tour in 1979 and 1980, as they visit six continents building their fanbase show by show, country by country, song by song. In between the performances, the film offers a jovial glimpse of the band as they travel around the world and their visits to local sights. Around the World is presented with restored picture and remastered audio and includes complete performances of four songs featured in the documentary.

This record of the trio's first world tour captures behind-the-scenes footage and candid personal moments as the band explores new terrain on their fast track to worldwide fame. This fascinating snapshot blends footage of the band performing live with intimate material featuring Sting, Andy Summers, and Stewart Copeland exploring Japan, Hong Kong, Australia, India, Egypt, Greece, France, South America, and the US. They're seen visiting local monuments and experiencing foreign cuisines as they expand their global fan base.

The never-before-released live audio offers performances of songs from the first two Police albums, as performed in Japan, Hong Kong, and England. The passion that would soon make them the biggest band in the world is on full display. The tracks are "Walking On The Moon" (Live from Kyoto), "Next To You" (in Kyoto), "Message In A Bottle," and "Born In The 50's" (both from Hong Kong).

Recalls Andy Summers in the liner notes to the new release: "Like Napoleon, we wanted the world. Out of the messy and fervent atmosphere in London at that time we conceived the idea to go all around the world and film the whole adventure. As far as we knew no rock band, at least, had ever done that. We had just about enough popularity to get booked around the globe. Plans were made."

Originally released in 1983 on home video, Around The World is a documentary film that captures The Police on the ascendent. Touring the globe in 1979 and 1980 in support of their most recent album Regatta De Blanc, the trio were already flirting with superstardom thanks to huge hit singles 'Message In A Bottle' and 'Walking on the Moon,' and their incandescent live performances. All of that is on display in this film, which has been re-released on DVD and tucked inside each copy of this release that presses nine of the best performances from the movie onto a slab of gray wax. What it lacks in the dynamics that were present on the recent vinyl reissues of the Police's catalog, it makes up for by highlighting Stewart Copeland's spectacular drumming work and Sting's world class showmanship.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Limited Edition
  • Silver Vinyl LP
  • DVD - Around the World Documentary Film
  • Restored Picture & Remastered Audio
  • Audio Mixed & Mastered by Matt Howe & Mazen Murad at Katara Studios
  • 2K Scanning & Restoration by Simon Marbrook
  • Bonus Features
  • 9 Live Tracks Previously Unavailable on LP
  • DVD Run Time: 83 Mins Approx
  • DVD9 Region 0 / Video: 4:3 - NTSC / Audio: Dolby Digital: Stereo, 5.1 Surround, DTS Digital Surround / Subtitles: English, French, German, Spanish (CAS), Portuguese



Side A:
  1. Walking on the Moon (Live from Kyoto)
  2. Deathwish (Live from Kyoto)
  3. So Lonely (Live from Kyoto)
  4. Can't Stand Losing You (Live from Kyoto)
Side B:
  1. Truth Hits Everybody (Live from Kyoto)
  2. Roxanne (Live from Hammersmith)
  3. Born In the 50's (Live from Hong Kong)
  4. Message In a Bottle (Live from Hong Kong)
  5. Bring On the Night (Live from Hong Kong)


Documentary Performances:
  1. Next to You
  2. Walking On the Moon
  3. Born In the 50's
  4. So Lonely
  5. Man In a Suitcase
  6. Can't Stand Losing You
  7. Bring On the Night
  8. Canary In a Coalmine
  9. Voices Inside My Head
  10. When the World Is Running Down, You Make the Best of What's Still Around
  11. Shadows In the Rain
  12. Don't Stand So Close to Me
  13. Truth Hits Everybody
  14. Roxanne
Bonus Features - Complete Performances of:
  1. Walking On the Moon (Live from Kyoto)
  2. Next to You (Live from Kyoto)
  3. Message In a Bottle (Live from Hong Kong)
  4. Born In the 50's (Live from Hong Kong)

Customers Also Like