Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sub Pop
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Postal Service Give Up Deluxe Edition 3LP

The Postal Service

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
10 Year Anniversary Deluxe 3LP Edition! Remastered Platinum Album! 15 Bonus Tracks with 2 Brand New Songs! Includes Booklet!

You can spend all the time and money in the world trying to craft the perfect pop-music scenario, but sometimes the stars have to align all by themselves. Even though early on the members of The Postal Service jokingly referred to “Such Great Heights” as “the hit” on their debut album, Give Up, there’s no way anyone could have predicted the eventual impact made by a mail-order album designed in a pair of West Coast bedrooms.

It’s been 10 years since the little project that could from Seattelite Ben Gibbard (aka Death Cab For Cutie’s frontman) and Angeleno Jimmy Tamborello (Dntel,
Figurine) emerged from seemingly nowhere and began to burrow into the ears of anyone who came into contact with the band’s infectious electro-pop. To celebrate, Sub Pop is reissuing The Postal Service’s sole album, and including in the multidisc set 15 bonus tracks, including two brand new songs, “A Tattered Line of String” and “Turn Around.” On top of that, the band is back together: The Postal Service will hit the road for a long-overdue victory lap, giving most fans their first (and last—seriously, don’t ask) chance to see the group in person.

Of course, the band’s music was more than just electro-pop, and the force with which Jimmy and Ben captured the indie-rock zeitgeist of the early aughts made them more of a phenomenon than just a regular old band. That such artists as Ben Folds, Amanda Palmer, Streetlight Manifesto, and Confide have covered “Such Great Heights” is a testament to both the song’s magical spark and its melodic inclusivity. The band’s sound is such a touchstone that “Postal Service-esque” has become a generally accepted musical adjective. And it goes way beyond Owl City.

While it was impossible to anticipate how massive Give Up would become, it was obvious in 2003 that these guys had made something special. Ten years on it’s amazing to know that so many people have come to agree.

"Ben Gibbard's famously bittersweet vocals and sharp, sensitive lyrics imbue Give Up with more emotional heft than you might expect from a synth pop album... The album exploits the contrast between the cool, clean synths and Gibbard's all-too-human voice to poignant and playful effect..." - Heather Phares,

"It's quaint to think of it now: Electronic musician Jimmy Tamborello and Death Cab for Cutie's Ben Gibbard named their project Postal Service because they used to send demos back and forth to each other – in the good old-fashioned U.S. Mail. In a way, that suits the glitchy, retro computer pop the duo made on Give Up... Songs like 'Such Great Heights' – whose inclusion on the soundtrack to Garden State elevated the album's profile – and 'Nothing Better' bubbled with sweet little blips and bloops and bright patches of synth-manipulated  strings whose crispness balanced Gibbard’s delicate warble." - Rolling Stone

"At the time, the melding of indie rock and electronic music was a bit of a revolution (alas), plus the duo's recording method—Tamborello would press on synths and make beats, Gibbard would write melodies and lyrics atop them, and they would mail versions back and forth, get it—made the band feel modern yet old-fashioned in a pre-smartphone time when people were feeling icky about the disposability of life. A decade later, the electronic elements sound completely contemporary... [Y]ou've got a really great wallowing record—it's called Give Up, you guys—that you can walk to or cry to, depending what you've got going on that day, cathartically screaming 'I am finally seeing why I was the one worth leaving!' while doing the dishes or into the pile of unfolded laundry on your bed." - Tara Thorne, The Coast

• Deluxe 3 LP Edition
• Celebrating 10 Year Anniversary
• 4-Pocket Gatefold M-Pack
• Includes Booklet
• Limited Time MP3 Coupon
• Platinum Album
• Sub Pop's Second Best-Selling Album (after Nirvana's Bleach)
• Remastered with 15 Additional Bonus Tracks & 2 New Songs including the single "A Tattered Line Of String"

The Postal Service
Jenny Lewis
Jen Wood
The Shins
Iron & Wine

LP1 - Side One:

1. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight
2. Such Great Heights
3. Sleeping In
4. Nothing Better
5. Recycled Air
LP1 - Side Two:
1. Clark Gable
2. We Will Become Silhouettes
3. This Place Is A Prison
4. Brand New Colony
5. Natural Anthem
LP2 - Side Three:
1. Turn Around
2. A Tattered Line Of String
3. Be Still My Heart
4. There’s Never Enough Time
LP2 - Side Four:
1. Suddenly Everything Has Changed
2. Against All Odds (Take A Look At Me Now)
3. Grow Old With Me
LP3 - Side Five:
1. Such Great Heights (John Tejada Remix)
2. The District Sleeps Alone Tonight (DJ Downfall Persistent Beat Mix)
3. Be Still My Heart (Nobody Remix)
LP3 - Side Six:
1. We Will Become Silhouettes (Matthew Dear Remix)
2. Nothing Better (Styrofoam Remix)
3. Recycled Air (Live On KEXP)
4. We Will Become Silhouettes (Performed by The Shins)
5. Such Great Heights (Performed by Iron & Wine)

Customers Also Like