Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Quicksilver Messenger Service Happy Trails 180g LP

Quicksilver Messenger Service

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 189/500!

Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the Frebruary 2010 Issue of Stereophile! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Happy Trails is the 1969 release that followed the self-titled Quicksilver Messenger Service debut album.

Happy Trails contains a 25 minute, six-part cover of Bo Diddley's (aka Ellas McDaniel) "Who Do You Love". Side B of the album consists of a suite of music which runs almost continuous beginning with the Bo Diddley tune, Mona. Of course, the band had to end the album with the theme from the Roy Rogers western TV show.

"If you weren't there, this is the next best thing: the definitive live recording of the mid-Sixties San Francisco psychedelic-ballroom experience. Mostly taped at the two Fillmores, in San Francisco and New York, Quicksilver Messenger Service's second album captures twin guitarists, John Cipollina and Gary Duncan, in high, bright flight, making rare magic from a couple of old Bo Diddley numbers ("Mona," "Who Do You Love?"), while the gorgeous, composed intricacies of "Maiden of the Cancer Moon" and the acid-flamenco studio epic "Calvary" prove that psychedelia was not just about tripping out." -

"...this is an excellent reissue that will bring good musical cheer and acid flashbacks to aging and not so aging analog loving hippies worldwide." - Michael Fremer,, Music 8, Sound 8

• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• Limited Edition
• Audiophile Re-mastering

John Cipollina, guitar, vocals
Gary Duncan, guitar, vocals
Greg Elmore, drums
David Freiberg, bass, vocals

1. Who Do You Love - Part 1
2. When You Love
3. Where You Love
4. How You Love
5. Which Do You Love
6. Who Do You Love - Part 2
7. Mona
8. Maiden of the Cancer Moon
9. Calvary
10. Happy Trails

Live Portions Recorded at Fillmore East and West. "Calvary" Recorded Live at Golden State Recorders, S.F.; Nov. 19, 1968.

Customers Also Like