Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


The Renato Sellani Trio My Foolish Heart Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Renato Sellani Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Jazz Pianist & His Group Performs American, Latin & Brazilian Music!

A native of Italy, Renato Sellani has fast become one of the most popular jazz pianists in Europe. Japanese producer Tetsuo Hara discovered him and has recorded him regularly for his Venus label. With bassist Massimo Moriconi and drummer Massimo Manzi, Sellani mostly performs and records American tunes, but has also added Latin and Brazilian music to his roster.

This album was recorded at The House Recording Studio in Rome on July 19, 2007.

"'Besame Mucho' has long been a favorite of jazz musicians, a very sad song usually played slowly for effect, though Sellani's brisk treatment crackles with an energy rarely heard in this Latin favorite, while he showcases his sidemen as well. Sellani's lyricism is on display in his slowly savored setting of 'My Foolish Heart,' a poignant performance. 'My Funny Valentine' is played so frequently that few arrangements seem original, though Sellani finds a novel approach by introducing it with Chopin's 'Prelude in E Minor,' then continuing in a melodically rich manner. The one exception from this mostly mellow ballad session is his breezy take of "It Could Happen to You.' This is easily one of Renato Sellani's best dates as a leader." - Ken Dryden,

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Renato Sellani, piano
Massimo Moriconi, bass
Massimo Manzi, drums

1. Besame Mucho
2. I Love You, Porgy - Summertime
3. My Foolish Heart
4. So In Love - I Love You
5. Corcovado
6. Stella By Starlight
7. My Funny Valentine
8. But Not For Me
9. Autumn Leaves
10. It Could Happen To You