Genre: Blues
Format: 33RPM,


The Rise & Fall of Paramount Records Volume 1 (1917-1927) 180g 6LP Box Set (Chestnut Vinyl)

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 6LP Box Set!
Re-Mastered & Pressed On Burled Chestnut Vinyl!
Hand-Engraved Blind-Embossed Gold-Leaf Labels, Housed In Laser-Etched White Birch LP Folio!
All Housed In Handcrafted Quarter-Sawn Oak Cabinet Lined With Lush Sage Velvet Upholstery!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

2015 Grammy Award Winner for:
• Best Boxed or Special Limited Edition Package
2015 Grammy Award Nominee for:
• Best Album Notes

How did a Wisconsin chair company, producing records on the cheap and run by men with little knowledge of their audience or the music business, build one of the greatest musical rosters ever assembled under one roof? The answer lies in ‘The Rise and Fall of Paramount Records 1917-1932,’ this epic, two-volume omnibus of art, words and music housed in a limited-edition, hand-sculpted cabinet-of-wonder, jointly released by Jack White’s Third Man Records and John Fahey’s Revenant Records. ‘Volume One,’ covers the label’s improbable rise from 1917-1927.

Paramount Records was founded on a modest proposition: produce records as cheaply as possible, recording whatever talent was available. Over its lifetime, the label would become a “race records” powerhouse, its sound and fortunes directly linked to the Great Migration.

The first volume in this collection was called "spectacular" (New York Times), "unprecedented" (Rolling Stone), "breathtaking" (Boing Boing), and "a cabinet of wonder, indeed" (Pitchfork).

Volume One (1917-27) chronicles Paramount's improbable rise from also-ran to jazz-blues juggernaut, launching the recording careers of giants like King Oliver, Jelly Roll Morton, Louis Armstrong, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Alberta Hunter, Blind Blake, Ethel Waters, Ma Rainey, Papa Charlie Jackson, Big Bill Broonzy, and Fats Waller.

Paramount simply killed. But more than that, it changed how this country thought of itself. It was the first enterprise of any kind to capture what America really sounded like in the 1920s and '30s - on its street corners, at its fish fries and country suppers, in its nightclubs and dance halls and showtents. In the process, it was profit-minded Paramount - not a preservationist body like the Library of Congress - that inadvertently created the most significant repository of this young nation's greatest art form.

The ‘Rise and Fall’ wonder-cabinet gives equal status to page-turning narrative and new scholarship; original and newly created graphic art; industrial design; and compelling analog and digital music experiences. ‘Volume One’ contains the following:

• 6x 180g vinyl LPs pressed on burled chestnut colored vinyl w/ hand-engraved, blind-embossed gold-leaf labels, housed in a laser-etched white birch LP folio
• Handcrafted quarter-sawn oak cabinet with lush sage velvet upholstery and custom-forged metal hardware
• 800 newly-remastered digital tracks, representing 172 artists
• 200+ fully-restored original 1920s ads and images
• 250 page deluxe large-format clothbound hardcover art book
• 360 page encyclopedia-style softcover field guide containing artist portraits and full Paramount discography
• First-of-its-kind music and image player app, allowing user mgmt of all tracks and ads, housed on custom-designed USB drive
• Dimensions: Length 18.5"/ Width 16"/ Height 5.75"

LP 1

1. Sign of Judgment
2. Dry Bone shuffle
3. My man Rocks Me
4. Sweet Georgia Brown
5. St. Louis blues
6. Pistol Blues
7. Old Joe Clark
8. Coffee Pot Blues
9. Old Steady Roll
10. Wait Till I Put On My Robe
11. Messin Around
12. Madison Street Rag
13. Mama Can't Lose
14. Barnum's Steam Calliope

LP 2
1. Skoodlum Blues
2. Jelly Roll's First Cousin
3. Come On Home
4. Drunk Man's Blues
5. Rainy Nights
6. How Long Daddy, How Long
7. Mr. Jelly Lord
8. Anna Mina Forty and St. Louis Shorty
9. coffin Blues
10. Pump Tillie
11. You Shall
12. Well of Salvation
13. Goose Grease
14. Brown Baby

LP 3
1. Dying Blues
2. Charleston Mad
3. Certainly Lord
4. 216 Blues
5. Chicago Buzz
6. Mamlish Blues
7. I'm Glad I'm Married
8. Steady Roll
9. Nelson Blues
10. Track Linin
11. Bessemer Bound Blues
12. Everybody Help the Boys Come Home
13. Crazy Quilt
14. Shaggy Dog Blues
15. My Man Rocks Me (With One Steady Roll)
16. Jazzbo Jenkins

LP 4
1. Sleep Baby Sleep
2. Salty Dog
3. Memory of Departed Friends
4. House Rent Stomp
5. West Indies Blues
6. Nobody Knows
7. Steppin' On the Blues
8. Walk Right In Belmont
9. When I Was A Moaner
10. Steady Roll
11. Satan at Church
12. Pacific Coast Blues
13. Look Out Papa Don't Tear Your Pants
14. Baby Can't You Understand
15. Seek and Ye Shall Find

LP 5
1. Will My Mother Know Me There
2. Hot Hot Hottentot
3. Ain't It A Shame
4. The Wicked Fives' Blues
5. Armour Ave. Struggle
6. Houston Bound
7. Coo Coo Stomp
8. You Can't Keep No Brown
9. Stomp Time Blues
10. I've Got A Hiding Place
11. Cacklin' Hen
12. Fade Away Blues
13. Mama's Angel Child
14. Black Man Blues

LP 6
1. Hen House Blues
2. Mojo Strut
3. Sympathetic Christ
4. That Da Da Strain
5. Wartime Blues
6. There'll Come A Day
7. On Calvary
8. St. Louis Blues
9. On This Rock I Will Build My Church
10. Don't Pan Me
11. Play That Thing
12. I Want Jesus to Talk With Me
13. Peepin' Blues
14. Cecilia

USB Drive contains 800+ songs

Customers Also Like