Genre: Jazz
Label: Sam
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Ron Jefferson Choir The Ron Jefferson Choir 180g LP (Mono)

The Ron Jefferson Choir

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP - Only 1000 Copies!
Remastered From Original Mono Master Tapes & Pressed at Pallas!

This self-titled album is a testimony of the short lived-band led by New-York drummer Ron Jefferson during his stay in Paris in the mid-60s. After a first album under his name on Pacific Jazz in 1962, the founding member of The Jazz Modes and the Les McCann trio made the trip overseas.

Here, he made his living by playing with the popular pianists Errol Parker or Hazel Scott but his main drive was this trio that he formed with two other US expats, bassist Roland Haynes (the same musician who recorded an album on Black Jazz as a pianist, as confirmed by Kirk Lightsey) and guitarist Buz Saviano. After a highly successful show at "Palais de Chaillot" in 1965, they were invited for a series of concerts in Dakar, Sénégal. On their return, Polydor International proposed them this session.

You can hear the deep impact their stay in the Motherland had on their music on the stand-out track "Africa The Beautiful". On pair with the best of Yusef Lateef's afro-eastern explorations from the time, it showcases Ron on flute and Senegalese percussion. The album release nonetheless was a commercial failure that prompted the band's separation and Ron's return to New-York where he performed until his passing in 2007.

Only a few copies of this record ever made it to the shops at the time and very few have had the chance to listen to it before this legit reissue remastered from the original MONO master tapes.


  • Limited Edition - 1000 Copies
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Mono
  • Recorded at the Studio Acousti, Paris, September 23, 1965
  • Remastered from original Mono master tapes
  • Pressed by Pallas in Germany
  • Deluxe high-gloss flipback album jacket
  • Facsimile reissue using the original cover art (front photo is lost)
  • Double insert using an original photo by JP Leloir from 1965 (if still available)
  • Each record has been visually checked to prevent defects


Ron Jefferson drums, flute
Buz Saviano guitar
Roland Haynes bass
Jackie Robinson vocals ("The Speaker")


Side A:

  1. The Speaker
  2. Africa The Beautiful
  3. Fu Yu

Side B:

  1. Every Little Bit Helps

Customers Also Like