The Smile A Light for Attracting Attention 2LP

The Smile

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Debut Album on Double LP!
Radiohead's Thom Yorke & Jonny Greenwood + Sons of Kemet's Tom Skinner!

"Not The Smile as in ha-ha-ha, more The Smile as in the guy who lies to you every day"... so speaks Thom Yorke on the inspiration behind the name of the trio consisting of himself, his Radiohead bandmate Jonny Greenwood and drummer Tom Skinner of UK jazz outfit Sons of Kemet.

The description is borne out by The Smile's acerbic first single "You Will Never Work In Television Again", a 2:48 blast of ragged, raw energy that moved The New York Times to rave: "Over a bruising 5/4 beat and flailing guitars climbing through three chords, Yorke snarl-sings his avenging fury at 'some gangster troll promising the moon' who'd devour 'all those beautiful young hopes and dreams,' and you can almost feel the spittle flying."

Additional singles "The Smoke", "Skrting the Surface" and "Pana-Vision" - which epically closed the series finale of hit show Peaky Blinders - followed with equal critical acclaim; all are collected on The Smile's first album, A Light for Attracting Attention, produced by Nigel Godrich.

The album also features strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section of contemporary UK jazz players including Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde.

The Smile debuted three live shows in early 2022 at Magazine in Greenwich, London, with NME writing: "It's a stunning show - of course, it should be. This is an Academy Award-nominated composer, a Mercury-nominated jazz drummer and... well... Radiohead, and they've brought all their toys to share. All hail The Smile."

There's something here for fans of any era, but as a reference for longtime devotees, A Light for Attracting Attention bests The Eraser as Yorke's finest non-Radiohead effort and falls somewhere amongst A Moon Shaped Pool and King of Limbs in terms of scope and daring. As such, diehards should be quite pleased with this release: an utterly satisfying set of songs that stands tall on its own, yet could easily climb the ranks against any of Radiohead's late-era efforts.
-Neil Z. Yeung,, 4/5 stars


  • Double LP
  • Trio Comprised of Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood & Tom Skinner
  • Produced by Nigel Godrich
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • 2 Printed Inner Sleeves
  • Artwork by Stanley Donwood & Thom Yorke


Disc One

Side One:
  1. The Same
  2. The Opposite
  3. You Will Never Work in Television Again
Side Two:
  1. Pana-Vision
  2. The Smoke
  3. Speech Bubbles

Disc Two

Side One:
  1. Thin Thing
  2. Open the Floodgates
  3. Free in the Knowledge
Side Two:
  1. A Hairdryer
  2. Waving a White Flag
  3. We Don't Know What Tomorrow Brings
  4. Skrting on the Surface

Customers Also Like