Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Sons of Adam Saturday's Sons: The Complete Recordings 1964-1966 2LP

The Sons of Adam

$24.99 $32.99
(You save $8.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Unprecedented Anthology from Mid-'60s Psych Band on Double LP!
Featuring Members of Genesis & Love!

The Sons Of Adam - a lean, mean rock 'n' roll machine from the Hollywood rock scene of the mid-1960s - quite literally blew the competition off the stage. Led by influential lead guitarist Randy Holden (Other Half / Blue Cheer), the Sons boasted an affable frontman in Jac Ttanna (Genesis) and an incomparable rhythm section in Mike Port and Michael Stuart-Ware (Love). Schooled in surf, emboldened by the British Invasion, the band had a fearsome reputation as a live act.

In this unprecedented anthology, Saturday's Sons features a previously unreleased 1966 full concert performance from San Francisco's famed Avalon Ballroom, a recording so powerfully dynamic that few listeners will doubt the band's masterful live presence. The quartet enjoyed a brief but incandescent three-year career which is fully documented on this compilation with rare 45s, studio outtakes and demo recordings, including fiery surf material from their early incarnation The Fender IV, and the legendary single "Feathered Fish," donated to the band by Love's Arthur Lee.

The story of the Sons Of Adam's unfulfilled reach for the brass ring is detailed in a definitive 15,000 word essay on the group written by compilation producer Alec Palao, presented here in a full-color booklet with many rare and previously unseen images, and housed in a deluxe gatefold 2LP set.

Despite their brief existence, quick stylistic change-ups, and the creative differences that ultimately ended them, the Sons of Adam were one of countless acts making exciting music in the shadows of bigger bands associated with '60s freak rock and the Summer of Love. Saturday's Sons sheds light on just how strong a sound they had going as they hurtled through those years, and presents the full picture of a band that previously existed as an easy-to-overlook footnote.
-Fred Thomas,, 4/5 stars


  • Double LP
  • Previously Unreleased 1966 Full Concert
  • Rare Tracks, Outtakes & Demos
  • Audio Transfers & Editing by Alec Palao
  • Mastered by Dan Hersch at d2
  • Lacquer Cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Deluxe Gatefold Package
  • Full-Color Booklet - 15,000 Word Essay by Alec Palao & Unpublished Images


Live at the Avalon, 1966

Side One - The Sons of Adam:
  1. Everybody Needs Somebody to Love
  2. Mr Sun
  3. The Long Road
  4. Evil Hearted You
  5. It Won't Be Long
Side Two - The Sons of Adam:
  1. Saturday's Son
  2. Go Away
  3. Gloria
  4. Feathered Fish (1966 Studio Recording)
  5. Baby Show the World (1966 Studio Recording)

Singles & Outtakes

Side Three - The Sons of Adam:
  1. Take My Hand
  2. Tomorrow's Gonna Be Another Day
  3. I Told You Once Before
  4. You Make Me Feel Good
  5. Without Love
  6. You're a Better Man Than I
  7. Saturday's Son
Side Four - The Fender IV:
  1. Mar Gaya
  2. You Better Tell Me Now
  3. Malibu Run
  4. Everybody Up
  5. Lonely Surf Guitar
  6. Highway Surfer
  7. Little Oly

Customers Also Like