Genre: Soul
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The South Side Movement The South Side Movement LP (Clearwater Blue Vinyl)

The South Side Movement

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

1973 Gem on Limited Edition Clearwater Blue Vinyl LP!
Very Tasty Windy City Soul-Funk Featuring a Great Cover of Stevie Wonder's "Superstition"!
First Ever U.S. Vinyl Reissue!

This 1973 gem is another one of those obscure '70s soul-funk albums released on a small independent label that has gone on to become a crate-digging favorite and a huge inspiration to modern-day hip hop artists and beyond.

Chicago-based The South Side Movement began as the backing band for the Sam & Dave-inspired soul duo Simtec & Wylie; their self-titled debut on the Scepter imprint Wand—much of it written by Chicago label owner and producer James Vanleer—scored a top 20 R&B hit with "I' Been Watchin' You," and they went on to make a couple of other records before disbanding in the mid-'70s.

So, your basic one-hit wonder, right? Well, not exactly…while The South Side Movement never reached the same level of commercial success, that one hit has been sampled by—are you ready for this?—The Beastie Boys, Beck, Erykah Badu, Jadakiss, and many more. The rest of the album is very tasty Windy City soul-funk, with an unexpectedly great cover of Stevie Wonder's "Superstition" a highlight.

First-ever LP reissue, pressed on clearwater blue vinyl!


  • Limited Edition
  • Clearwater Blue Vinyl
  • First Ever U.S. LP Reissue


Side A:

  1. I' Been Watchin' You
  2. Love Turned Me Loose
  3. La Dee Da
  4. Have A Little Mercy
  5. Can You Get To That

Side B:

  1. You're Gonna Lose My Love
  2. Come On And Love Me
  3. Everlasting Thrill
  4. Superstition
  5. Mud Wind

Customers Also Like