Genre: Pop Rock
Label: SCI Fidelity
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The String Cheese Incident Untying the Not 180g 2LP (Gold Vinyl)

The String Cheese Incident

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Famed 2003 Album Pressed on 180g Gold Vinyl 2LP!
First Time Ever on Vinyl!
Includes 2 Bonus Tracks!

SCI's 2003 album Untying the Not is now available for the first time ever on vinyl!

Produced by Youth and featuring the original "Cosmic Elf" cover art by Alex Grey, the double LP pressed on heavyweight gold vinyl is a fantastic addition to your record collection.

The 4 sides include all 13 tracks from the original Untying the Not + two bonus tracks: "These Waves" and "Emma's Dream".

The String Cheese Incident (SCI) is an American band from Crested Butte and Telluride, Colorado, formed in 1993. The band is composed of Michael Kang (acoustic/electric mandolin, electric guitar, and violin), Michael Travis (drums and percussion), Bill Nershi (acoustic guitar, lap steel guitar, and electric slide guitar), Kyle Hollingsworth (piano, organ, Rhodes, and accordion) and Keith Moseley (bass guitar), and, in 2004, Jason Hann (auxiliary percussion). Their music has elements of bluegrass sounds, as well as rock, electronica, calypso, country, funk, jazz, Latin, progressive rock, reggae and occasional psychedelia. All members write original compositions and sing. Nershi has written the bulk of the group's original songs.

On Untying the Not, SCI erases the perception that the only thing they are capable of as a band is playing long, wonderfully intricate, transcendent jams rooted in songs in a live setting. SCI are also fine songwriters, and virtually everything here attests to the fact that they have attained not only new inner wisdom as a band when it comes to writing tunes, but in recording them as well. The gorgeous, warm, gooey, organic, and spacious sound producer Youth (yes, formerly of Killing Joke and formerly known as Martin Glover) weaves around the band's compositions updates its sounds without artifice or gimmick... Untying the Not is a stream of white light making its way into the darkened corner that has become our culture. Full of possibility, fascination, delight, and stunningly beautiful music, this is arguably the defining moment - thus far - in SCI's catalog, live or studio.
-Thom Jurek, AllMusic


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Gold Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • First Time Ever on Vinyl
  • 2 Bonus Tracks
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Original "Cosmic Elf" Cover Art by Alex Grey
  • Made in the Czech Republic


Side A:

  1. Wake Up
  2. Sirens
  3. Looking Glass

Side B:

  1. Orion's Belt
  2. Mountain Girl
  3. Lonesome Road Blues
  4. Elijah
  5. Valley of the Jig

Side C:

  1. Tinder Box
  2. Just Passin' Through
  3. Who Am I?
  4. Time Alive

Side D:

  1. On My Way
  2. These Waves (Bonus Track)
  3. Emma's Dream (Bonus Track)

Customers Also Like