Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus
Additional Artists: Paul Brown Al Harewood


The Walter Bishop Jr. Trio Speak Low Again Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

The Walter Bishop Jr. Trio

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Bop Pianist on SACD!

Born in New York City to a composer father, Jazz pianist Walter Bishop Jr.'s childhood friends included future jazz musicians Kenny Drew, Sonny Rollins, and Art Taylor. Brought up in Harlem, he left high school to play in dance bands in the area, and later became part of drummer Art Blakey's Messengers. Bishop developed his bebop playing in part by playing in jam sessions at Minton's Playhouse. He recorded with Milt Jackson and Stan Getz in 1949, then played with Charlie Parker (1951–54), Oscar Pettiford, Kai Winding, and Miles Davis (1951–53). In 1956, he recorded with Hank Mobley. In the early 1960s he also led his own trio with Jimmy Garrison and G. T. Hogan. His debut recording as a leader was in 1961 with Speak Low.

"This is one of the last sessions by Walter Bishop, Jr. prior to his death in 1998. The veteran bop pianist is in great form on this trio date with bassist Paul Brown and drummer Al Harewood, which mixes standards, bop classics, and several originals. Bishop's jaunty approach to 'Yardbird Suite' is a gem, while his lush treatment of 'The Masquerade Is Over' finds the rhythm section staying softly in the background. He revisits 'Speak Low,' a centerpiece of his first date as a leader some 32 years earlier, playfully detouring into Billy Strayhorn's 'Rain Check' and leaving room for a few drum breaks by Harewood. His 'Valley Land' is an intense mid-tempo samba, while 'Keiko's Samba' kicks into a higher gear. This Japanese CD on the Venus label is worth seeking." - AllMusic

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Walter Bishop Jr., piano
Paul Brown, bass
Al Harewood, drums

1. Speak Low
2. Valley Land
3. Bish Bash Blues
4. The Masquerade Is Over
5. Keiko's Samba
6. Just Friends
7. Yardbird Suite

Recorded at Sear Sound Studio in New York on June 14, 1993

Customers Also Like