Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The White Stripes Elephant 2LP

The White Stripes

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Informal

180 Gram Double Vinyl!
2004 Grammy Award-Winner - Best Alternative Music Album!
Includes "Seven Nation Army"!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 449/500!

The White Stripes, songwriter Jack White (vocals, guitar, piano, and once bass) and Meg White (drums and occasional vocals) formed in 1997 in Detroit, Michigan. After releasing several singles and three albums within the Detroit independent music underground, The White Stripes rose to prominence in 2002, as part of the garage rock revival scene.

Their use of analog and low-fidelity equipment in the recording process partnered with a do-it-yourself approach created a raw simplicity of composition, arrangement, and performance that sets them apart from their contemporaries.

Recorded in a brief two-week stint at Liam Watson’s Toe Rag studio in London, with no equipment dating past the epochal year of 1963, the band’s fourth album is dedicated to “The Death of the Sweetheart.” Elephant stretches seamlessly from extreme polar opposites of the musical spectrum in mere minutes. Songs like “Seven Nation Army” and the “The Hardest Button to Button” are sinister and powerful, with tones and harmonics so eerie that they might have been written at the Winchester Mystery House. At the same time, songs like “There’s No Home for You Here” and “You’ve Got Her in Your Pocket” enjoy such innocent, pop naiveté that one can’t help but wonder if Jack White thinks/dreams in such scattered song styles or if he’s laughing at you trying to dissect his every last word. The sincere emotion that is the foundation of the ‘feeling’ you get listening to the White Stripes’ music ties every song together.

This record will be remembered. Everything is laid out for the critics to pick and pull apart. Don’t think too deep. Just listen. Turn off the outside world. Elephant opens doors to a thousand different stories. This is not hype. This is an understatement. Like an elephant never forgets, you will remember “Elephant” forever...

• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket

Jack White, vocals, guitar, piano
Meg White, drums, vocals

LP1 - Side A:

1. Seven Nation Army
2. Black Math
3. There's No Home For You Here
LP1 - Side B:
1. I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself
2. In The Cold, Cold Night
3. I Want To Be The Boy To Warm Your Mother's Heart
4. You've Got Her In Your Pocket
LP2 - Side C:
1. Ball And Biscuit
2. The Hardest Button To Button
3. Little Acorns
LP2 - Side D:
1. Hypnotize
2. The Air Near My Fingers
3. Girl, You Have No Faith In Medicine
4. It's True That We Love One Another

Customers Also Like