Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Polydor
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Who The Who Sell Out Half-Speed Mastered LP

The Who

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Half-Speed Mastered Vinyl LP!
Mastered by Jon Astley at Close to the Edge from the Original Tapes!
Half-Speed Vinyl Masters Cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 316/500!

Analog Planet Rated 9/11 Music, 10/11 Sonics!

Released in 1967, The Who Sell Out was the third album released by The Who. It is remembered for the use of fake adverts and jingles between songs.

The album contains songs such as "I Can See for Miles," "Armenia City in the Sky," and "Tattoo." It has been mastered by longtime Who engineer Jon Astley from the original tapes and is packaged in an original sleeve with OBI and certificate of authenticity.

This black vinyl version is engineered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios using a half-speed mastering technique that produces a superior vinyl cut.

The first thing that struck me with this reissue was how rich, warm, and surprisingly round the album sounded - many a half-speed master I've heard seem to enable additional brightness (which can be great, in some instances). This one does offer brightness for sure - but it is in the right places, striking an appealing balance to showcase deep instrument and heady amplifier tones, yet not losing the sense this was a record made in 1967. At times, a sort of three-dimensional presence of the studio where the recordings were made is apparent... For me, the instruments, vocals, and amplifier tones - and the woodiness of certain guitars - coming through my speakers make this edition of The Who Sell Out worth the price of admission alone. It is near-revelatory to more clearly hear the intricate multitrack overdubs and edits, super detail work that makes this version all the more essential in my mind (speaking here as pretty much a lifelong Who fanatic)... If you are a Who fan who likes listening on black discs spinning at 33 & 1/3 rpm in the best possible fidelity, this half-speed master should be on your shopping list.
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 9/11, Sound 10/11


  • Vinyl LP
  • Remastered by Longtime Who Engineer Jon Astley at Close to the Edge from the Original Tapes
  • Half-Speed Vinyl Masters Cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios
  • Original Sleeve
  • OBI Strip
  • Certificate of Authenticity
  • Made in Germany


Side One:

  1. Armenia City In The Sky
  2. Heinz Baked Beans
  3. Mary Anne With The Shaky Hand
  4. Odorono
  5. Tattoo
  6. Our Love Was
  7. I Can See For Miles

Side Two:

  1. Can't Reach You
  2. Medac
  3. Relax
  4. Silas Stingy
  5. Sunrise
  6. Rael (1 & 2)

Customers Also Like