Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Polydor
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Who Tommy Half-Speed Mastered 2LP

The Who

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Analog Planet Rated 10/11 Music, 9/11 Sonics!
Analog Planet's Top LPs of 2022: The Best Archival Releases - Honorable Mention!

Half-Speed Mastered Double LP!
Mastered by Jon Astley at Close to the Edge from the Original Tapes!
Half-Speed Vinyl Masters Cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios!

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 190/500!

Regarded as one of the most important albums of all time, Tommy is a rock opera about a deaf, dumb, and blind boy, released in 1969; it reached #2 in the UK charts and #7 in the US.

The album contains songs such as "Pinball Wizard," "The Acid Queen," & "I'm Free." It has been mastered by longtime Who engineer Jon Astley from the original tapes and is packaged in an original sleeve with OBI and certificate of authenticity.

This black vinyl version is engineered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios using a half-speed mastering technique that produces a superior vinyl cut.

What is immediately interesting is the new version sounds like Tommy should sound, but it feels richer, rounder, and more robust than the original U.S. pressing I have. It feels warmer and more welcoming than the stereo version on my SACD. The new half-speed mastered Tommy sounds especially nice in the lows and mids, yet with natural highs. There is a good sense of dynamics that allows you to turn up the volume without everything falling apart, and things getting harsh... To that end, the related big question you may indeed be pondering is whether it is indeed worthwhile getting this reissue. If you are a deep Who fan - and of Tommy in particular - I would say absolutely yes! If you are like me - and, as I suspect for most American fans who own only a U.S. pressing - this new edition of Tommy is a significant improvement.
-Mark Smotroff, Analog Planet, Music 10/11, Sound 10/11


  • Double LP
  • Remastered by Longtime Who Engineer Jon Astley at Close to the Edge from the Original Tapes
  • Half-Speed Vinyl Masters Cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios
  • Original Trifold Sleeve
  • OBI Strip
  • Certificate of Authenticity
  • Made in Germany


Side One:

  1. Overture
  2. It's a boy
  3. 1921
  4. Amazing journey
  5. Sparks
  6. Eyesight for the blind (The hawker)

Side Two:

  1. Christmas
  2. Cousin Kevin
  3. The acid queen
  4. Underture

Side Three:

  1. Do you think it's alright?
  2. Fiddle about
  3. Pinball wizard
  4. There's a doctor
  5. Go to the mirror!
  6. Tommy can you hear me?
  7. Smash the mirror
  8. Sensation

Side Four:

  1. Miracle cure
  2. Sally Simpson
  3. I'm free
  4. Welcome
  5. Tommy's holiday camp
  6. We're not gonna take it

Customers Also Like