Genre: Soul
Label: Soul Jazz
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Winstons Color Him Father LP & 12" Vinyl Single

The Winstons

$14.99 $35.99
(You save $21.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Legendary Soul & Funk On Special Limited Edition Vinyl LP!
1969 Album Featuring The Most Sampled Drum Break In The History Of Music!
Fully Remastered With 4 Extra Tracks!
Includes Bonus One-Sided 12" Dubplate Special Extended "Amen Brother"!

What do Tyler the Creator, Mantronix, Stetsasonic, DJ Shadow, Eric B and Rakim, Brand Nubian, Jay-Z and N.W.A. have in common?

What do UK Apachi and Shy FX, DJ Zinc, Bukem, Ganja Kru, Lemon D Ice, Dillinga, Photek, 4-Hero, Congo Natty, Krome and Time, Roni Size, Skream and Shut Up and Dance have in common?

Not to mention The Prodigy, Squarepusher, Leftfield, Oasis, Aphex Twin, Calvin Harris, Dua Lipa, David Bowie, Primal Scream, Lady Gaga and Dizzee Rascal?

Answer: They have all sampled The Winstons' "Amen, Brother"!

The Winstons' "Amen, Brother" is THE most sampled drum break in the history of music (over 5,000+, according to and has shaped the evolution of electronic music ever since its creation in 1969.

This is the official release of the Winston's Color Him Father album, out of print for many years on vinyl, a glorious break-heavy album of soul, funk and gospel featuring the singles "Color Him Father," "Amen, Brother" and loads more! The fully remastered album is housed in an exact-reproduction original sleeve and comes with 4 bonus tracks that the group released only as singles (first pressing comes with bonus dubplate special 12" extended break mix of classic "Amen, Brother").

The Winstons' "Amen, Brother" was originally the B-side to "Color Him Father," a superb soul tune released by a multi-racial group from Washington, D.C. in 1969. The drum break was played by George G.C. Coleman, and the song was based on a Curtis Mayfield guitar riff. The soul connection was no coincidence. The Winstons were formed from the backing groups to both Otis Redding and Curtis Mayfield and the Impressions before they came into their own spotlight. The Winstons signed to Mayfield's Curtom Records in Chicago in 1968. Drummer extraordinaire G.C. Coleman had already played with The Marvelettes, Otis Redding and Curtis Mayfield (and in the 1970s would play with the funk group Brick).

"Color Him Father" became a million-selling no. 1 R&B hit single in the US, and the following year the Winstons released their debut (and only) album, also entitled 'Color Him Father,' on Metromedia Records, featuring both sides of the single alongside nine other excellent soul, funk, gospel and R&B cuts. "Color Him Father" remains to this day a stone-cold classic soul tune. Unfortunately, the group split up the following year, citing difficulties in touring the southern US due to their interracial lineup, and their sole album has long since sunk into obscurity.

Fast forward nearly 20 years and the "Amen, Brother" break was discovered by hip-hop producers after the song appeared on the seminal Ultimate Breaks & Beats series of original breaks (alongside groundbreaking tracks such as James Brown's "Funky Drummer," The Incredible Bongo Band's "Apache" and Herman Kelly's "Dance to the Drummers Beat") in 1986. The track became a hip-hop staple, with countless songs based on George G.C. Coleman's epic six-second drum break.

Fast forward once more, this time to the UK at the start of the 1990s, and hundreds of drum and bass producers began sampling and speeding up the "Amen, Brother" break, adding reggae bass lines to create first jungle and then drum and bass - and by the 1990s the "Amen" drum break dominated this new musical genre.

The Winstons' Color Him Father is a superb rare slice of soul, funk and gospel music that has changed the course of music over the last fifty years!


  • Limited Edition
  • Vinyl LP
  • Fully Remastered
  • Exact-Reproduction Original Artwork
  • 4 Bonus Tracks
  • Bonus 12" Vinyl Single - Dubplate Extended Break Mix of "Amen, Brother"
  • Limited-Time Digital Download Card



Side One:
  1. Color Him Father
  2. I've Gotta Be Me
  3. The Chokin' Kind
  4. The Greatest Love
  5. A Handful Of Friends
  6. Everyday People
  7. Love Of The Common People (Bonus Track)
  8. Wheel Of Fortune (Bonus Track)
Side Two:
  1. The Days Of Sand And Shovels
  2. Birds Of A Feather
  3. Only The Strong Survive
  4. Traces
  5. Amen, Brother
  6. Say Goodbye To Daddy (Bonus Track)
  7. Mama's Song (Bonus Track)

12" Vinyl Single

  1. Amen, Brother (Extended Mix)

Customers Also Like