Genre: Jazz
Label: ORG Music
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Thelonious Monk The London Collection Volume 1 180g LP Scratch & Dent

Thelonious Monk

$23.49 $30.99
(You save $7.50 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

All covers have a spine split and a corner bend. Disc inside is undamaged.

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Black Lion Records Essential Reissue Series!
Mastered by Bernie Grundman! Cut by Chris Bellman!
Sound & Engineering Consultation by Steve Hoffman! Pressed at Pallas on 180g Vinyl!

History Unveiled: 1971 Solo Mastery From Thelonious Monk Chronicles the Pianist's Final Full-Scale Recording Sessions As Leader

Spectacular Audiophile Restoration Series Resurrects UK Label Black Lion: Mastered at Bernie Grundman Studios by Chris Bellman and Pressed at Pallas

EQ Notes and Curation Performed by Iconic Engineer Steve Hoffman; LPs EQed and Set Up by Bernie Grundman

Conceived, Designed, and Manufactured for Collectors and Enthusiasts: Vinyl Jacket Features Exclusive Art

What if you could be a fly on the wall at Thelonious Monk's final recording sessions as leader? You can. Offering tremendous late-period performances, The London Collection Vol. 1 is nothing but Monk, improvisational, unhinged, and unrestrained. Alternating between established originals and familiar classics, the pianist weaves magic spells on the 88s, savoring pauses between notes, the decay of chords, and a fluid style that feels more welcome than some of his angular playing.

Originally released by the UK label Black Lion, an imprint that specialized in resurrecting rare gems from US jazz and blues legends, The London Collection Vol. 1 marks what are indisputably Monk's final significant contributions and a can't-miss opportunity for collectors and enthusiasts to get closer to the man and his music. Orchestrated by ORG Music, this historical reissue is afforded the ultimate in audiophile production standards, resulting in sonics and presentation befitting the museum-like worth of this record's existence.

Mastered from the original master tapes at Bernie Grundman Studios by Chris Bellman and pressed at Pallas, the 180g LP was curated by legendary engineer Steve Hoffman and EQed by Grundman himself. A better team you cannot find; every step involved serious quality-control measures to guarantee gorgeous sound. The superb vinyl jacket features exclusive artwork. Indeed, this is what being a collector is all about. The title may not be widely known to most, but this reissue preserves vital music that will be enjoyed by generations to come. Consider it a buried treasure that, miraculously, has resurfaced in better condition than that when it was originally made.

Jazz fans, Monk followers, audiophiles, and music fanatics, don't sleep on this collectable gem!

...[P]ure unadulterated Monk...The piano sound is absolutely ideal tonally, texturally and especially dynamically. The transient attack is ultra-clean, the sustain generous and the decay falls away naturally. When Monk accentuates a note or series of notes by ramping up the volume, it gets loud! In short, it sounds like a piano. It sounds like Monk has sat down to play a recital just for you!...The sound here is so transparent, the pressing quality so superb, the vinyl so quiet, if you set the level just so, I think you'll agree with me that the title of this review is not hyperbole: turn out the lights and Monk has been brought back to life to play just for you!
-Michael Fremer, Music 11/10, Sound 11/10 !!!


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Mastered by Bernie Grundman
  • Cutting by Chris Bellman
  • Mastered From the Original Master Tapes
  • Pressed at Pallas in Germany
  • EQ Notes and Curation Performed by Iconic Engineer Steve Hoffman
  • LPs EQed and Set Up by Bernie Grundman
  • Exclusive Cover Artwork
  • Stereo Version


Thelonious Monk piano


Side A:

  1. Trinkle, Tinkle
  2. Crepuscule With Nellie
  3. Darn That Dream
  4. Little Rootie Tootie
  5. Meet Me Tonight in Dreamland

Side B:

  1. Nice Work If You Can Get It
  2. My Melancholy Baby
  3. Jackieing
  4. Loverman
  5. Blue Sphere

Customers Also Like