Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Idlewild
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


They Might Be Giants Flood LP (Picture Disc)

They Might Be Giants

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

30th Anniversary Picture Disc Vinyl LP!
Features Animated Sequences On The 2nd Side Viewable With A Smartphone!

In honor of the album that made them an international act, They Might Be Giants is celebrating Flood's 30th anniversary in 2020 by releasing the album on vinyl picture disc. TMBG's major label debut was one of the biggest surprises of the emerging alternative rock scene of 1990. Graduating from their home recording roots to a full studio set up, the band took full advantage of the sonic possibilites with a wider palette of instrumentation and a deeper exploration into the possibilities of home-brewed sampling. Long considered to be the "calling card" album for entry into the world of They Might Be Giants, Flood was produced by Clive Langer & Alan Winstanley and They Might Be Giants & Roger Moutenot, and features many audience favorites.

In celebration of the 30th anniversary of Flood's release (1/15/90), Idlewild Recordings is proud to present this special edition picture disc re-issue. The A-side features the original Flood album cover art and the B-side is a brand new animated psychedelic zoetrope image of TMBG ephemera created by Paul Sahre. You will need a phone and a glass hookah to experience it in its full psychedelic glory!

Technical Note: You'll need a phone to view the animated sequences on the second side of this album properly. Just put this album on your turntable and shine a light on it, the brighter the better. Turn on your phone's camera and set it to video, and the phone's shutter should blend the frames and animate the images.

iPhone users: shine a bright lamp on the turntable about 18 inches above the record. Hold your phone about a foot above the record. Tap the "4K 60" text in the upper right until the 60 changes to 24. With the table not spinning, tap somewhere in the frame to focus, and pull the exposure down to about 1/4 (its the slider next to the little yellow sun).


  • 30th Anniversary
  • Vinyl Picture Disc
  • A-side features the original Flood album cover art
  • B-side is a brand new animated psychedelic zoetrope image of TMBG ephemera created by Paul Sahre
  • Made in Czech Republic


Side One:

  1. Theme From Flood
  2. Birdhouse In Your Soul
  3. Lucky Ball & Chain
  4. Istanbul (Not Constantinople)
  5. Dead
  6. Your Racist Friend
  7. Particle Man
  8. Twisting
  9. We Want A Rock

Side Two:

  1. Someone Keeps Moving My Chair
  2. Hearing Aid
  3. Minimum Wage
  4. Letterbox
  5. Whistling In The Dark
  6. Hot Cha
  7. Women & Men
  8. Sapphire Bullets Of Pure Love
  9. They Might Be Giants
  10. Road Movie To Berlin

Customers Also Like