Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Southern Lord
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Thurston Moore Screen Time LP

Thurston Moore

$9.99 $20.99
(You save $11.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Solo Instrumental Album From Sonic Youth Co-Leader On Vinyl LP!

Sonic Youth singer/guitarist Thurston Moore unveiled a surprise collection of 10 ambient instrumental tracks on February 5, 2021. Originally released to stream and download exclusively via Bandcamp, the album is now available on vinyl LP.

You won't get a lot of Sonic Youth vibes out of Screen Time... Instead, it's a collection of 10 instrumentals, seemingly recorded entirely on guitar. Some of the tracks are ominous and clangy. Others are lovely acoustic reveries that recall guitarists like Daniel Bachman and William Tyler. Based on the title alone, I like to imagine that this album is nothing but the idle noodles that Moore picked out while watching Netflix. That's probably not what happened, though.
-Tom Breihan, Stereogum
Seemingly recorded entirely on guitar, the tracks are mostly different variations of minimalist-style music. Some drone on, while others lightly dance. There's 'the home', an offbeat and quirky tune that would suit a Wes Anderson film, but then the entire album closes with 'the realization', an expansive, nine-minute post-rock piece. If Moore's intention was to limit our 'screen time' and make us retreat into his aural world, then he may have just succeeded.
-Lake Schatz, Consequence of Sound


  • Vinyl LP
  • Embossed jacket


  1. the station
  2. the town
  3. the home
  4. the view
  5. the neighbor
  6. the upstairs
  7. the dream
  8. the walk
  9. the parkbench
  10. the realization

Customers Also Like