Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Tony Joe White Tony Joe 180g Import LP

Tony Joe White

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Third Studio Album Reissued on 180g Vinyl LP!

Tony Joe was the third studio album by Tony Joe White, released in 1970. It contained the singles "High Sheriff of Calhoun Parrish" and "Save Your Sugar For Me". The album was recorded at RCA Victor Studios, Nashville and Lyn-Lou Studios, Memphis, and produced by Billy Swan.

A mixture of original recordings and covers, it featured
White's versions of "Hard To Handle" made popular by Otis Redding and "Boom Boom" by John Lee Hooker.

"Tony Joe White's self-titled third album, Tony Joe White, finds the self-proclaimed swamp fox tempering his bluesy swamp rockers with a handful of introspective, soul-dripping ballads and introducing horn and string arrangements for the first time...Many of the songs will remind the listener just how turbulent the cultural climate of the late '60s and early '70s was in the U.S. White's soulful southern-tinged spoken drawl introduces 'The Change' (as in a "change is gonna come"), then a potent theme and oft-spoke clarion call that, indeed, the times they were a changin'. 'Black Panther Swamps' and 'I Just Walked Away' (the album's first single) are also successful at what they attempt. Meanwhile, over on the more sentimental side, 'The Daddy' concerns itself with the generation gap between father and son, and mentions the son cutting his long hair ('a little respect will never hurt you')." - Bryan Thomas,

• 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Pressing
• Classic Album

Side I:

1. Stud-Spider
2. High Sheriff Of Calhoun Parrish
3. Widow Winmberly
4. Conjure Woman
5. Save Your Sugar For Me
Side II:
1. Hard To Handle
2. What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)
3. My Friend
4. Stockholm Blues
5. Boom Boom

Customers Also Like