Genre: Folk
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Townes Van Zandt The Late Great Townes Van Zandt 180g LP

Townes Van Zandt

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Remastered 1972 Masterpiece Album On 180g Vinyl!
Remastered From Original Analog 1/4" Tapes by Ron McMaster at Capitol Records!
Pressed at RTI!

While Townes Van Zandt may not be a household name, his work is known by his music fans from every genre. After the release of Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions & Demos 1971-1972, 5 star reviews from American Songwriter and Mojo, coupled with a 10 out of 10 piece from Uncut proved the world was ready to rediscover not only Van Zandt, but the studio albums those sessions came from.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to offer reissues of Townes' two seminal releases, "High, Low And In Between" and "The Late Great Townes Van Zandt" - for the first time in decades on High Quality 180g Vinyl!

The Late Great Townes Van Zandt was Van Zandt's sixth release - hitting the shelves in 1972. It built on the previous year's High, Low And In Between, adding texture in both song and production. The album is probably best known for its "Pancho & Lefty" - the song Emmylou Harris covered for 1977's "Luxury Liner" and which Willie Nelson & Waylon Jennings would take to the top of the chars in 1983. Full of originals, as well as covers like Hank Williams' "Honky Tonkin'", the album was Van Zandt's perfect storm. With every element in place, it's arguable that Townes would never hit this creative height again.

The Late Great Townes Van Zandt might be his masterwork. And, it is a release that should be in every collection of great American music.

This beautifully remastered edition is now available on 180g vinyl.

• 180g Vinyl
• Re-mastered by Ron McMaster at Capitol Records
• Re-mastered from original analog 1/4"
• Pressed at RTI
• Liner notes from Grammy winning writer Colin Escott
• Gatefold Jacket

1. No Lonesome Tune
2. Sad Cinderella
3. German Mustard
4. Don't Let the Sunshine Fool Ya'
5. Honky Tonkin'
6. Snow Don't Fall
7. Fraulein
8. Pancho & Lefty
9. If I Needed You
10. Silver Ships of Andilar
11. Heavenly Houseboat Blues

Customers Also Like