Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Us3 Hand on the Torch Import 180g 2LP


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Video Sample!

Remastered 180g Double Vinyl! Pressed at Pallas in Germany!

Features Bonus Track and 6-Page Deluxe Packaging!

Hand on the Torch is the debut album for the jazz-rap group Us3. It received much attention because of its mix of jazz and rap, using live jazz musicians. All samples used on the album are from old Blue Note classics: the most famous being Herbie Hancock's "Cantaloupe Island," used on the track "Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia)," which was recorded with two different music videos.

This debut album for jazz-rap group Us3 was released in 1993 on the Blue Note label. Throughout the 14 selections, samples are found from music by Herbie Hancock, Art Blakey, The Jazz Messengers, Lou Donaldson, Thelonious Monk, Grant Green, Bobby Hutcherson, and Horace Silver.

"Hip-hop/jazz fusionisters Us3 have forged the most elaborate union between the styles since the early days of Gang Starr and A Tribe Called Quest...when words and music mesh, as on "Cantaloop" or "The Darkside," Us3 show how effectively hip-hop and jazz can blend." -Ron Wynn,

Recorded on 180g heavy-weight vinyl to ensure quality sound, packaged in gatefold cover, and covered by premium protective vinyl outer sleeve.

The “Play 33 1/3 LP Series” features masterpiece albums released in the '90s converted for the first time world-wide to analog Long Playing record. The album cover and package created after months of graphic work and processes by hand enhanced its excellence and to ensure the record’s superb sound quality, the German MMP, who undertook the record production of EMI Germany and Universal, utilized a heavy weight 180g vinyl LP to contain the sound. Khiov who was in charge of the planning and production of many LP miniature series took charge of the album cover production spending 6 months to create a masterpiece.

This project was highly scrutinized passing rigid testing at the factory in Germany. Even the performers themselves had not been able to put their hands on the LP version of their own albums as their home country had not produced them. The LPs produced by this project certainly have become must-have items by LP lovers all around the world.

In the age where faster and more convenient is thought to be better, the increase in demand for the retro vinyl LP worldwide is clearly attributed to the satisfaction from the sound offered by analog products impossible to be replicated by CD and digital products and the delight of touching, feeling, and possessing this masterpiece-like large artwork. Furthermore, LP records have both rarity and history that increase their value over time and serve as an attractive factor for collectors.

• Play 33 1/3 Series
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl Pressing
• Officially Remastered
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• 6-Page Deluxe Packaging
• Lacquer cut at SST GmbH
• Double LP
• Black poly-lined inner sleeves
• Gatefold Jacket
• Includes bonus track "Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia) (Instrumental Version)"
• Project designed & sleeve made by Khiov
• Import

Mel Simpson, keyboard, programming
Geoff Wilkinson, samples, programming, scratches
Rahsaan, rap
Kobie Powell, rap
Tukka Yoot, rap
Gerard Presencer, trumpet
Dennis Rollins, trombone
Mike Smith, tenor saxophone
Ed Jones, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
Steve Williamson, soprano saxophone
Tony Remy, guitar
Matt Cooper, piano
Marie Harper, backing vocals

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia)
2. I Got It Goin' On
3. Different Rhythms Different People
4. It's Like That
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. Just Another Brother
2. Cruisin'
3. I Go To Work

LP 2 - Side 3:
1. Tukka Yoot's Riddim
2. Knowledge of Self
3. Lazy Day
LP 2 - Side 4:
1. Eleven Long Years
2. Make Tracks
3. The Darkside
4. Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia) (Instrumental version)

Customers Also Like