Vladimir Horowitz Horowitz At Carnegie Hall 180g 2LP

Vladimir Horowitz

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Collections

180g Virgin Double Vinyl LP! High Quality Pressing!
Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering!

The musical rest is defined as being a pause during which no sound is heard until the next tone is sounded. And the same goes for a musician who makes a long pause, which is then ended by thundering applause from an enraptured audience. This is exactly what happened on May 9, 1965, the day on which Vladimir Horowitz stepped onto the stage at Carnegie Hall after an absence of 12 years.

As so often, the maestro ignored all types of works from Viennese Classicism, and certainly no one missed them. Busoni’s arrangement of Bach’s Toccata in C major, BWV 564 is precise, has enormous presence and is yet impressively transparent; Schumann’s Fantasy op. 17 is emotional, at times breathless and charming; Horowitz captures the spirit of Scriabin and Chopin with virtuosity and heartfelt emotion, allowing the works to waft over the audience.

As a finale to this celebrated comeback, Horowitz performs a delightfully light and fresh rendering of Moszkowski’s Etude in A major, op. 27, and brings the evening to a peaceful end with Schumann’s unique "Träumerei" ("Dreaming") from Kinderszenen ("Scenes from Childhood"). In this live recording of just one of several comebacks, the discerning listener will notice the tension and nervousness at this literally high-temperature event – the noisy air-conditioning had been shut at the request of the recording engineers.

• 180g Virgin Vinyl
• Double LP
• High Quality Pressing
• Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering

Vladimir Horowitz, piano

LP 1
Side A:
Bach / Busoni
Organ Toccata in C Major

1. Prelude
2. Intermezzo: Adagio
3. Fugue
Side B:
Fantasy in C Major, Op. 17

1. Fantastic and with Passion
2. Moderate, Energetic Throughout
3. Slow, Sustained and Tender throughout

LP 2
Side C:

1. Sonata No. 9 in F Major, Op. 68
2. Poem in F-Sharp minor, Op. 32, No. 1
3. Mazurka in C Sharp minor, Op. 30, No. 4
4. Etude in F Major, Op. 10, No.8
Side D:

1. Ballade in G minor, Op. 23
2. Serenade for The Doll from "Children's Corner"
3. Etude in C-Sharp minor, Op. 2, No. 1
4. Etude in A-flat Major, Op. 72, No. 11
5. Traumerei (Dream) from "Kinderszenen", Op. 15

Recording: May 1965 live at Carnegie Hall, New York, by Fred Plaut

Customers Also Like