Wattstax '72: The Complete Concert 10LP & Book Box Set

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming February 24, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Legendary 1972 Concert Featuring Isaac Hayes, Eddie Floyd, The Staple Singers & More!
Limited Edition 10LP Box Set Includes Previously Unreleased Tracks & Full-Color Book.

Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the iconic Wattstax concert that took place at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in 1972, Stax Records presents Wattstax '72': The Complete Concert. Featuring the full Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum show with speeches and other talk from the stage across 10 LPs. The set also features a full-color book with introduction by Wattstax creator Al Bell, plus new essays by Rob Bowman and A. Scott Galloway. Featured artists include Isaac Hayes, Eddie Floyd, The Staple Singers and more.


  • Limited Edition
  • The Complete Wattstax Concert Including Speeches & Other Stage Talk
  • 10LP Box Set
  • Previously Unreleased Tracks
  • Full-Color Book with Introduction by Wattstax Creator Al Bell & New Essays by Rob Bowman & A. Scott Galloway


Side A:

  1. Dale Warren & the Wattstax '72 Orchestra - Salvation Symphony

Side B:

  1. Kim Weston - The Star Spangled Banner*
  2. Tommy Jacquette & Jesse Jackson - Opening announcements
  3. Kim Weston - Lift Every Voice and Sing
  4. Melvin Van Peebles - We're here to consecrate, not desecrate

Side C:

  1. The Staple Singers - Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom)
  2. The Staple Singers - Are You Sure
  3. The Staple Singers - I Like the Things About Me
  4. The Staple Singers - Respect Yourself
  5. The Staple Singers - I'll Take You There

Side D:

  1. Tommy Jacquette & Richard Roundtree - Wattstax Day proclamation
  2. Jimmy Jones - Somebody Bigger Than You and I
  3. Louise McCord - Better Get a Move On
  4. Deborah Manning - Precious Lord Take My Hand

Side E:

  1. Eric Mercury - I Shall Not Be Moved*
  2. Freddie Robinson - At the Drive-In*
  3. Lee Sain - Them Hot Pants
  4. Ernie Hines - What Would I Do*
  5. Little Sonny - Wade in the Water

Side F:

  1. William Bell - I Forgot to Be Your Lover
  2. The Newcomers - Pin the Tail on the Donkey
  3. Eddie Floyd - Knock on Wood
  4. The Temprees - Explain It to Her Mama
  5. Frederick Knight - I've Been Lonely for So Long
  6. The Golden 13 - Old Time Religion

Side G:

  1. William Bell - Al Bell Award presentation
  2. The Rance Allen Group - Lying on the Truth
  3. The Rance Allen Group - Up Above My Head
  4. William Bell - David Porter introduction

Side H:

  1. The David Porter Show - Introduction
  2. David Porter - Ain't That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One)
  3. David Porter - Can't See You When I Want To
  4. David Porter - Reach Out and Touch (Somebody's Hand)

Side I:

  1. William Bell - The Bar-Kays Introduction
  2. The Bar-Kays - Son of Shaft/Feel It
  3. The Bar-Kays - In the Hole
  4. The Bar-Kays - I Can't Turn You Loose

Side J:

  1. William Bell - Tommy Tate introduction
  2. Tommy Tate - I Remember*
  3. William Bell - Please move back to the stands
  4. Tommy Tate - Help Me Love*
  5. Tommy Tate - School of Life*

Side K:

  1. William Bell & John Kasandra - Carla Thomas introduction
  2. Carla Thomas - Pick Up the Pieces
  3. Carla Thomas - I Like What You're Doing (To Me)
  4. Carla Thomas - B-A-B-Y
  5. Carla Thomas - Gee Whiz

Side L:

  1. Carla Thomas - I Have a God Who Loves
  2. John KaSandra - Albert King introduction
  3. Albert King - Match Box Blues
  4. Albert King - Got to Be Some Changes Made
  5. Albert King - I'll Play the Blues for You

Side M:

  1. Albert King - Killing Floor
  2. Albert King - Angel of Mercy
  3. John KaSandra - Rufus Thomas introduction
  4. John KaSandra & Rufus Thomas - Rufus Thomas entrance
  5. Rufus Thomas - The Breakdown
  6. John KaSandra & Rufus Thomas - Kindly go back to your seats

Side N:

  1. Rufus Thomas - Do the Funky Chicken
  2. Rufus Thomas - Do the Funky Penguin

Side O:

  1. Jesse Jackson - I am, somebody
  2. The Soul Children - I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To
  3. The Soul Children - Hearsay
  4. John KaSandra, Fred Williamson & Jesse Jackson - Let us stand and raise our fists together

Side P:

  1. Billy Eckstine - If I Can Help Somebody*
  2. Billy Eckstine - There is a curfew here

Side Q:

  1. Jesse Jackson - Isaac Hayes introduction
  2. Isaac Hayes - Theme From Shaft (Version 1)*
  3. Isaac Hayes - Theme From Shaft (Version 2)
  4. Isaac Hayes - Soulsville

Side R:

  1. Isaac Hayes - Never Can Say Goodbye
  2. Isaac Hayes - Part-Time Love
  3. Isaac Hayes - Your Love Is So Doggone Good

Side S:

  1. Isaac Hayes - Ain't No Sunshine/Lonely Avenue

Side T:

  1. Isaac Hayes - I Stand Accused
  2. Jesse Jackson - Let everybody stand and join hands
  3. Jimmy Jones - If I Had a Hammer

* = Previously Unreleased

Customers Also Like