Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Merge Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Waxahatchee Saint Cloud LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming March 27, 2020 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Classic Americana Sound With Modern Touches On Vinyl LP!

Rolling Stone's The 50 Best Albums of 2020 - Rated 7/50!
Consequence of Sound's Top 50 Albums Of 2020 - Rated 6/50!
NPR's The 50 Best Albums Of 2020 - Rated 47/50!
Paste's The 50 Best Albums Of 2020 - Rated 2/50!

Waxhatchee's Saint Cloud is an unflinching self-examination whose raw, exposed narrative terrain is aided by a shift in sonic arrangements. While her last two records (Out In The Storm and Ivy Tripp) featured the kind of big guitars, well-honed noise and battering sounds that characterized her Philadelphia scene and strongly influenced a burgeoning new class of singer-songwriters, Saint Cloud strips back those layers to create space for Katie Crutchfield's voice and lyrics.

Over the course of Saint Cloud's 11 songs, which were recorded and produced by Brad Cook (Bon Iver), Crutchfield peels back the distortion of electric guitars to create a wider sonic palette than on any previous Waxahatchee album. It is a record filled with nods to classic country folk-inspired tones and distinctly modern touches. The result is a classic Americana sound befitting an artist who has emerged as one of the signature storytellers of her time.

One must assume that with sobriety comes a sense of clarity. But for Crutchfield it wasn't an immediate discovery. At first, her writing initially felt blurred. But for this reason, the songs feel all the more tender, as if each line was delicately molded into place. It's Saint Cloud's genuine storytelling about traveling across the world and making repeated mistakes that allows you to easily view all the crosses she's removed, reexamined, and replaced. It's soft and sunny, without being deceitfully utopian. But more importantly, it's a replanting of Crutchfield's roots. She's removed all the weeds and decided to let herself bloom. With a folksy, gentle backbeat, Saint Cloud becomes the soundtrack for new beginnings.
-Samantha Small, Consequence of Sound Top 50 Albums Of 2020 - Rated 6/50
In some ways, it possesses little pieces of all the musical lives Crutchfield has lived before: punk-y vocals à la her once-upon-a-time rock band with Allison, P.S. Eliot; searing, Dylan-esque vocal delivery; chiming guitars straight off Out in the Storm; pastoral folk not unlike that of her 2018 EP Great Thunder. The songwriting remains impeccable. Within 10 seconds, you know - without a doubt - it's a Waxahatchee album. Yet it's different from anything she's ever released before... Saint Cloud is a whole new world.
-Ellen Johnson, Paste Magazine The 50 Best Albums Of 2020 - Rated 2/50
The collection of 11 songs isn't really rock, Americana or country. But it's arresting, as Crutchfield's voice sets scenes filled with lilacs in full bloom, fiery West Memphis sunsets and car wheels on Arkadelphia Road.
-Jerad Walker (Oregon Public Broadcasting's, NPR The Best 50 Albums Of 2020 - Rated 47/50
On Saint Cloud, singer-songwriter Katie Crutchfield delved into her Alabama roots to create a stripped-back Americana sound, drawing on influences like Lucinda Williams and Emmylou Harris. (Just look at the album cover of Crutchfield perched on a pickup truck with red roses in its bed, and you'll get the idea.) Newly sober, Crutchfield's songwriting is pure and hits you like a gut punch - whether she's likening love to honey on a spoon ('Can't Do Much') or reflecting on picked flowers in a Topo Chico bottle ('Lilacs'). Released the month the pandemic was declared a national emergency, it's the kind of country comfort we didn't know we’d need so badly.
-Rolling Stone, The 50 Best Albums of 2020, Rated 7/50


  • Black Vinyl LP
  • Heavyweight inner sleeve with lyrics
  • Single jacket
  • 24"x36" full-color poster
  • Limited time digital download card


  1. Oxbow
  2. Can't Do Much
  3. Fire
  4. Lilacs
  5. The Eye
  6. Hell
  7. Witches
  8. War
  9. Arkadelphia
  10. Ruby Falls
  11. St. Cloud

Customers Also Like