Genre: Alternative
Label: Merge
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Wye Oak Civilian + Cut All The Wires: 2009-2011 2LP (Green Swirl Vinyl)

Wye Oak

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming October 22, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Deluxe 10th Anniversary Reissue On Green Swirl Vinyl 2LP!
Includes Bonus Album Of Unreleased Tracks & Demos!

Ten years after its release, Wye Oak's Civilian remains a raw, sinewy punch of a record - bleak and intense and lonely and self-assured all at once. The album unravels with the sort of self questioning and uncertainty that come with youth, and its specific confidence in unflinchingly probing all of those emotions, feeling them to their deepest extent even when it's tearing you apart at the seams.

When Andy Stack and Jenn Wasner released Civilian, it marked both the ascension and death of Wye Oak, or at least a version of it. Now, a decade later, Civilian + Cut All The Wires: 2009–2011 delves back into that pivotal record and adds a lost album of 12 unreleased tracks and demos to Civilian's universe.

Sonic paradoxes abound: The mellow "Sinking Ship" is preceded by the wall-of-sound grunginess that roars through "Half A Double Man". A pared-down acoustic Daytrotter live session of "Two Small Deaths" dovetails into the jangling "Holy Holy" demo. The closing lyrics over the frenetic, screeching feedback of "Electricity" lend the anniversary release its title: "There's nothing about you that I don't adore / Show me these rooms and I'll show you the way to the door / Walk me through / I'll cut all the wires and spend my life with you."

On the occasion of its 10th anniversary, Stereogum described Civilian as "an album of hellos and goodbyes at the same time, introducing us to everything Wye Oak could be, before setting the stage for the other Wye Oaks we'd soon get to know, and the all the others we've still yet to meet."

It's rare that a band gets better after releasing a few albums; usually their initial inspiration gets used up and they are left foundering. Wye Oak have done it, and on Civilian, they insert themselves into the upper echelon of indie rock bands.
-Tim Sendra, AllMusic


  • 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
  • Green Swirl Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Original album
  • Bonus album of unreleased tracks & demos
  • Gatefold sleeve with dual front cover
  • Full color printed dust sleeves with lyrics
  • Limited time digital download card


LP 1 - Civilian

  1. Two Small Deaths
  2. The Alter
  3. Holy Holy
  4. Dogs Eyes
  5. Civilian
  6. Fish
  7. Plains
  8. Hot As Day
  9. We Were Wealth
  10. Doubt

LP 2 - Cut All The Wires: 2009-2011

  1. Replacement
  2. Civilian (Demo)
  3. No Words
  4. Electricity
  5. Half A Double Man
  6. Sinking Ship
  7. Two Small Deaths (Daytrotter Session)
  8. Holy Holy (Demo)
  9. Pardon
  10. Black Is The Color
  11. Ten Fingers
  12. I'm Proud

Customers Also Like