Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Matador
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Yo La Tengo Electr-O-Pura (25th Anniversary) 2LP

Yo La Tengo

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

25th Anniversary Edition On Double LP!
1995 Masterpiece Includes "Tom Courtenay" & "Blue Line Swinger"!

For Electr-O-Pura's 25th anniversary, the 58 minute master has been expanded into a 2LP edition for the highest quality audio. Now in a gatefold sleeve.

Listeners may look back on Electr-O-Pura and say that this 1995 release ushered in the golden age of Yo La Tengo. Countless bands of the mid-'80s didn't last a decade, but these guys just kept getting better in terms of singing, writing, playing and production. Gorgeous electric guitar permeates this record, especially on the shimmering, smoky opener "Decora", and the seductive love song "Pablo & Andrea", which is pure guitar heaven, featuring lambent strumming, some nifty slide work, and a full-on blaring solo. Both of these numbers, incidentally, feature the solo vocals of Georgia Hubley, whose wonderfully unaffected singing is both poignant and stirring.

Electr-O-Pura remains one of the most beloved works in Ira, Georgia and James' catalog, and showed a stylistic range that at time was already bordering on the-very-difficult-to-keep-up-with (fast forward to 2020 and just say "impossible"). From the single "Tom Courtenay", to the woozy & beautiful "Pablo & Andrea", to the climatic 9 minute, 18 second blowout of "Blue Line Swinger", this album was nothing short of monumental in an era that wasn't short for competition.

Few bands have consistently better ideas than Yo La Tengo, and they make 14 of them work like a charm on Electr-O-Pura.
A subcultural tour de force.
-Robert Christgau, Village Voice
In 1995, the indie rock trio lurched headlong into its own sound with Electr-O-Pura. Now, newly reissued on vinyl, the pop-focused and densely referential album remains a monument in the band's catalog.
-Pitchfork, Best New Reissue, September 13, 2020


  • 25th Anniversary
  • First time on Double LP
  • Newly cut on 2 discs for the best sound quality
  • Gatefold sleeve


  1. Decora
  2. Flying Lesson (Hot Chicken #1)
  3. The Hour Grows Late
  4. Tom Courtenay
  5. False Ending
  6. Pablo And Andrea
  7. Paul Is Dead
  8. False Alarm
  9. The Ballad Of Red Buckets
  10. Don't Say A Word (Hot Chicken #2)
  11. (Straight Down To The) Bitter End
  12. My Heart's Reflection
  13. Attack On Love
  14. Blue Line Swinger

Customers Also Like