Genre: Pop Rock
Label: ADA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Yo La Tengo Fakebook LP

Yo La Tengo

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Vinyl LP Reissue! Includes Limited Time Download Card!

Originally released in 1990, Yo La Tengo's Fakebook is considered by many to be among their best efforts. It is Yo La Tengo "Unplugged" working out on a handful of originals and a number of obscure would-be hits like The Kinks' "Oklahoma City, U.S.A.", John Cale's "Andalucia" and the Flamin' Groovies' "You Tore Me Down". Their song "The Summer" and their brilliant take of Daniel Johnston's "Speeding Motorcycle" proved to be the bands first alternative chart hits. The album features guitar work by Dave Schramm and production by Gene Holder.

"One for the desert island along with the Byrds box set and that battered copy of 'Grievous Angels'." - Melody Maker

"Fakebook is the sweetest thing yet from these pure folks... Friendly and warm but not nostalgic. the past is the present for Yo La Tengo." - Alternative Press

"This is Yo La Tengo laying out the vast playing field of their influences and curating a great deal of what will become the modern canon of pop music." -Stereogum

• Vinyl LP
• Limited time download card

Side One:

1. Can't Forget
2. Griselda
3. Here Comes My Baby
4. Barnaby, Hardly Working
5. Yellow Sarong
6. You Tore Me Down
7. Emusified
8. Speeding Motorcycle
Side Two:
1. Tried So Hard
2. The Summer
3. Oklahoma City, U.S.A.
4. What Comes Next
5. The One To Cry
6. Andalucia
7. Did I Tell You
8. What Can I Say

Customers Also Like