Yo-Yo Ma Simply Baroque 180g Import 2LP

Yo-Yo Ma

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Cellist Interprets Bach On 180g Double LP Import Release!

A personal interpretation of Bach's best baroque works and classical pieces by Italian composer Luigi Boccherini.

Performing on the Baroque cello (outfitted with gut strings and without an endpin, making it so that the performer has to clutch the instrument between the legs), Yo-Yo Ma delivers the warm, listener-friendly classical music that he has become known for. Supported by conductor Ton Koopman's period Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, Ma presents a wholly unusual interpretation of some of Bach's better known Baroque works, as well as some lesser known pieces by Italian composer Luigi Boccherini.

The sound of the Baroque cello changes the mood of each familiar piece to something warmer and more intimate. The string composition has a less dry tone than the usual wound string, and the absence of the endpin means that there is no sound traveling through the floor, therefore all of the sound comes directly from the body of the instrument. Ma's skilled handling of the pieces evolve Simply Baroque beyond an interesting experiment and into a beautiful listening experience.

• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Double LP
• Previously Unreleased Material
• Gatefold Sleeve
• PVC Protective Sleeve
• Limited Time Download Card

Yo-Yo Ma, baroque cello
Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra
Ton Koopman, conductor, organ & harpsichord

Side A:

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
1. Sei Lob Un Mit Ehren, BWV 167
2. Erbarme Dich (from St. Matthew Passion)
3. Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring, BWV 147
4. Ertot Uns Durch Dein Gute, BWV 22
Side B:
Johann Sebastian Bach
1. Ich Ruf Zu Dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639
2. Kommst Du Nun, Jesu, Vom Himmel Herunter
3. Lass Mein Herz Die Munze Sein, BWV 163
4. Dein Blut, Der Edle Saft, BWV 136
5. Air (from Orchestral Suite No. 3)

Side C:
Johann Sebastian Bach
Concerto In G Major For Cello And String Orchestra, G. 480

1. I. Allegro
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Allegro
Side D:
Johann Sebastian Bach

Concerto In D Major For Cello And Orchestra, G. 478
1. I. Allegro Con Spirito
2. II. Larghetto
3. III. Rondo
4. IV. Rondo Comodo Assai

Customers Also Like