Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Fat Possum
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Youth Lagoon Heaven Is a Junkyard LP (Ultra Clear Vinyl)

Youth Lagoon

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming June 9, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in-stock items will have all in-stock items shipped immediately!

First Pressing on Ultra Clear Vinyl!

TAS Rated 5/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the October 2023 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Pitchfork 50 Best Albums of 2023 - Rated 42/50!

With whispers of country, 'Heaven Is a Junkyard' is mutant Americana in a world of love, drugs, storytelling, and miracles - held together by Powers' voice and an upright piano. "If a lyric wasn't right, a song wasn't right," says Powers, who scrapped two-and-a-half albums worth of material because it "wasn't honest." "'Heaven Is a Junkyard' is about all of us. It's stories of brothers leaving for war, drunk fathers learning to hug, mothers falling in love, neighbors stealing mail, cowboys doing drugs, friends skipping school, me crying in the bathtub, dogs catching rabbits, and children playing in tall grass," says Powers. Throughout the album, he stitches together a lyrical style that feels both punk and western. "Daddy come home, and Daddy's on junk," Powers sings on "Idaho Alien" - nestled between a saloon-style piano and a rhythmic hiss that sounds like a baby monitor. "Prizefighter", the album's third track, was written while watching a VHS of "Drugstore Cowboy." Against a gauzy curtain of lap steel guitar and a CR78 drum machine, he explores the bond between two brothers, leaving it undefined what is fact and what is fiction. "Tommy left for war with no goodbye. I never got a chance to ask him why," he sings. "The Sling", a song Powers refers to as "the album's core," is a ghostly and naked piano ballad. We hear each line like a voyeur peeping through a crack in the wall. "On a lonely street, children still play. Families still eat," he sings. 'Heaven Is a Junkyard' is a phrase Powers wrote down in his journal after watching a neighbor's farmhouse catch fire. "I wasn't even sure what those words meant at the time," he says. "I'm not sure I still do." But when the album's title is heard at the end of "The Sling", it feels substantial.

Youth Lagoon's Heaven is a Junkyard is an intimate, stunning, and quietly confident record.
-Jerika Hayes, The Absolute Sound, October 2023, Music 5/5, Sonics 4/5


  • First Pressing
  • Ultra Clear Vinyl


  1. Rabbit
  2. Idaho Alien
  3. Prizefighter
  4. The Sling
  5. Lux Radio Theatre
  6. Deep Red Sea
  7. Trapeze Artist
  8. Mercury
  9. Little Devil from the Country
  10. Helicopter Toy

Customers Also Like