Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Drag City
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Anthony Moore Flying Doesn't Help LP

Anthony Moore

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming June 10, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Moore's Seminal 1979 Post-Punk/Art Rock Album On Vinyl LP!

Flying Doesn't Help is Anthony Moore's contribution to the post-punk, pre-wave sound of London in 1979 - light with pop, fronted with meta-punk attitude and draped in strings of keyboard theory. As someone else said at the time, "The perfect release!" A lovely collision of art, pop and punk from the megacenter of all things in the rock-and-roll era.

While much of Anthony Moore's earlier work is pleasant yet dispensable, 1979's Flying Doesn't Help falls into a different class altogether. Elaborate yet accessible, the effects of More's (now minus one 'o') masterwork can be felt on a number of levels. The opening track, a hooker-with-a-heart-of-gold story called 'Judy Get Down,' is 'Lady Madonna' for a new generation, both in its playful use of double entendres and in its unfailing Beatlesque melodicism. The songs that follow run the gamut from mordant to mischievous to desolate. More manufactures a musical landscape that is starkly beautiful, emotionally charged, and a tad dangerous, not unlike the best of John Cale's solo material.
-Michael Jourdan,, 4.5/5 stars


  • Vinyl LP


  1. Judy Get Down
  2. Ready Ready
  3. Useless Moments
  4. Lucia
  5. Caught Being in Love
  6. Timeless Strange
  7. Girl It's Your Time
  8. War
  9. Just Us
  10. Twilight (Uxbridge Rd.)

Customers Also Like