Audiophile Analog Collection Vol. 1 Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape

$399.99 $499.99
(You save $100.00 )
Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

From the worlds of movies, blues, percussion ensembles, world music & jazz, this is a special compilation of analog audiophile recordings at their best, with emphasis on execution and great sound. A must for the reel-to-reel enthusiast.

Mixed directly on two-track analog tracks, the absolute best sounding format.

Audio tapes from 2xHD guarantees that ultimate quality is preserved from the original master in contrast to vinyl albums, CDs or other formats. The transfer is made to the best magnetic tape on the market today, Recording the master, SM468. This tape has the best Print-through protection and longest storage life.

Based in Montreal and created by audiophile sound engineer René Laflamme and producer André Perry, all 2xHD Tapes are from the original analog master and transfer in analog domain using a Nagra-T tape recorder, modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired from the playback head. In the high end audio world, René has carved out a reputation for definition of excellence and uses his knowledge and unfailing instinct to match various audio components to create the best all-encompassing sound experience.

For the recording on this tape, the original 1/4" 15 ips NAB or CCIR master tapes were played on a Nagra-T tape recorder, modified wtih high-end tube playback electronics, wired with OCC silver cable from the playback head direct to a Nick Doshi tube head preamplifier. The Nagra T, with its four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head, is one of the best transports ever made. A custom-built carbon fiber head block and a head damping electronic system permit 2xHD FUSION to obtain more transparency and better 3D imaging. This copy was recorded on a Nagra IV-S 1/4" at 15 ips.

**It is standard practice in all recording studios to keep the tape "tail out". This reduces "pre-echo" and it means that the tape should be placed on the right hand side of the recorder, re-wound and then played.


  • Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape
  • Pure analogue copy at 15 ips, CCIR EQ, from the analogue master tape
  • Transferred to Recording The Masters SM468 magnetic tape
  • 2xHD mastering by René Laflamme
  • 1 Reel
  • Made in Canada


  1. Pink Panther (Jazz Ensemble)
    Recorded at Plateau Montreal concert hall with two Schoeps cardio microphones on Nagra IV-S
  2. The Story of Sonny Boy Williamson (Sonny Boy Williamson)
    Recorded on 2 tracks with two Schoeps cardio (tube) microphones
  3. Greek Tycoon Bouzouki Music
    Recorded at La Chapelle du Grand Seminaire on Decca Tree with 3 Fidelio 2xHD mircophones on Nagra IV-S
  4. Musicus Harp Solo
    Recorded with 2 Schoeps on Nagra IV-S
  5. Musicus Percussion Ensemble (voice Jambi, timpani, big drum)
    Recorded at Salle Claude Champagne with 2AKG C12, 4 Neumann U67, 2 B&K 1 inch microphones, on Nagra T
  6. Katjar Percussion Ensemble (Fine percussions, drums)
    Recorded with 2 Fidelio 2xHD microphones on Nagra T at 30ips
  7. Esperance (Marie Saint Onge - world music)
    Recorded with 2 Fidelio 2xHD microphones on Nagra T at 30ips
  8. Leaving (Fred Alarie Trio; tribute to Chet Baker and Scott LaFaro)
    Recorded at La Chapelle historique du bon Pasteur with two Neumann U-67 on Nagra IV-S

Customers Also Like