Audiophile Analog Collection Vol. 2 Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape!

Positive Feedback 2020 Writer's Choice Award Winner!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

From the worlds of jazz, blues, percussion ensembles, world music and classical music, this is a special compilation of analog audiophile recordings at their best, with emphasis on execution and great sound.

For the recording on this tape, the original 1/4" 15ips CCIR master tapes were played on a Nagra-T tape recorder, modified with high-end tube playback electronics, wired with OCC silver cables from the playback head direct to a Nick Doshi tube head preamplifier. The Nagra T, with its four direct drive motors, two pinch rollers and a tape tension head, is one of the best transports ever made. A custom-built carbon fiber head block and a head damping electronic system permit 2xHD Fusion to obtain more transparency and better 3D imaging. Your copy was recorded on a Nagra IV-S 1/4" at 15ips.

**It is standard practice in all recording studios to keep the tape "tail out". This reduces "pre-echo" and it means that the tape should be placed on the right hand side of the recorder, re-wound and then played.

"This album is stunning to say the least. A reference level stuff! Do not miss this release when it's up for grabs. It really shows what a high-end system is capable or lack of!"
- review Jan. 2020
Put this one down as a guilty pleasure. Mastering/Recording Engineer Rene Laflamme assembled a 'selection of my best recordings of the past 20 years. Selected for emotion, and it is also challenging for the Hi-Fi system, with tracks that extend below 25 Hz.' I'll second that. The highlight of the Audiophile Analog Collection, vol. #2 tape is track three 'Seven Last Words of Christ' featuring soprano Monique Page and Regis Rosseau on organ. Word of warning to the wise, lower your volume control before playing this track. The Casavant organ with low frequencies extending below 20 Hz is the world's fourth most powerful organ, and this track will test the mettle of every audio system. Rene LaFlamme should also be complimented on his ability to maintain the proper perspective between the singer and organ eg. the size of singer isn't overblown relative to the organ. Some of the other selections here include a two percussion tracks, a recording of an octobass and bass and the duo of Aaron Davis and David Piltch who backed Holly Cole on two of her hit albums. This tape (or LP) belongs in every tapehead's library.
-Myles Astor, Positive Feedback, 2020 Writer's Choice Award For New Recordings: Sampler recording, 15 ips, reel-to-reel tape


  • Master Quality Reel To Reel Tape
  • Pure analogue copy
  • 15IPS CCIR tape
  • Recorded 'off the floor' on analog 1/2" tape at 30 ips - non-Dolby, no overdubs
  • Transferred to Recording The Masters SM468 magnetic tape
  • 2xHD mastering by René Laflamme
  • 1 Reel
  • Made in Canada


  1. Lights Of Barcelona - Marc Vallee Trio
  2. Libertango - Trio de Curda
  3. Seven Last Words Of Christ - Introduction - Monique Page, soprano; Regis Rousseau, organ
  4. Horizontal Blue - Aaron Davis, piano; David Piltch, bass; Mark Kelso, drums
  5. Route 66 - Doreen Smith, voice
  6. Le Violette - Anonymous tenor & harpsichord
  7. Echanges Synaptiques Interdits - Frederic Alarie, double bass; Eric Chappell, octobass
  8. Musicus Percussion #3 - Percussion Ensemble

Customers Also Like