Genre: Classical
Size: 12"
Composer: Beethoven
Format: 33RPM,


Beethoven Complete Works for Cello & Piano/Fournier, Gulda Hand-Numbered Half-Speed Mastered 180g 3LP Box Set

Pierre Fournier & Friedrich Gulda

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 3LP Box Set!
Half-Speed Mastered by Emil Berliner Studios From Original Source!
Pressed at Optimal! First Complete Release On Vinyl!

In celebration of the 250th anniversary of Beethoven's birth, Deutsche Grammophon reissues one of the major milestones in its catalogue in a special vinyl edition, the legendary recording of the master's complete works for cello and piano duo by Pierre Fournier and Friedrich Gulda. Set down in June 1959 in the Brahms-Saal of Vienna's Musikverein, these recordings are held in the highest esteem to this day by connoisseurs and experts alike.

The first complete release on Vinyl is newly remastered at Half-Speed from original sources by Emil Berliner Studios, with 180g pressings by Optimal and sleeves adapted from the original artwork. The 4-page booklet includes liner notes by Pierre Fournier's son Jean Fonda and by Reinhard Beuth (German, English); artist photos; and track-listing.

No living cellist has eclipsed Pierre Fournier's Beethoven cycle with Friedrich Gulda
-Fanfare 1995
Admittedly I haven't played this record in years but when a Ume publicist sent me this box set of Beethoven's Complete works for Cello and Piano I pulled it out and gave it a spin. It sounded much better than I last remember it since my system's much better. I particularly noted how easy it now was to hear acoustics of the relatively small Musikverein, Brahms-Saal concert space—a 600 seater located in Vienna. Of course, I began with the familiar Sonata #1 and within a few bars it became obvious that this reissue cut ½ speed at the Emile Berliner Studios in Berlin was sonically way better than the original. Instrumental focus was better, everything was better and the pressing probably at Optimal was dead silent too. The presentation includes a high quality glossy laminated box and as with this year's excellent and highly recommended reissue of Beethoven's 9 symphonies with Bernstein conducting the Vienna Philharmonic, this set includes facsimiles of the DGG production paperwork. It was exciting (for a record geek) to see the sheets produced for the original LP I've had for so many years. About the only thing missing from this box set were the tulips around the label. Otherwise, if you want more high quality all-analog produced classical music reissues you'd do well to support this effort even if you don't think you like chamber music. You might be surprised!
-Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, Music 11/11, Sound 11/11


  • Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - 1700 Copies
  • 180g Vinyl
  • 3LP Box Set
  • Mastered at half-speed by Emil Berliner Studios from Original Source
  • Pressed at Optimal in Germany
  • 4-page booklet
  • Includes facsimiles of the recording documentation
  • First complete release on vinyl
  • Limited time download card


Pierre Fournier cello
Friedrich Gulda piano
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Sonata No. 1 in F major op. 5 no. 1
  1. Adagio sostenuto - Allegro
  2. Rondo. Allegro vivace
Sonata No. 2 in G minor op. 5 no. 2
  1. Adagio sostenuto ed espressivo - Allegro molto più tosto presto
  2. Rondo. Allegro
Sonata No. 3 in A major op. 69
  1. Allegro ma non tanto
  2. Scherzo. Allegro molto
  3. Adagio cantabile - Allegro vivace
Sonata No. 4 in C major op. 102 no. 1
  1. Andante - Allegro vivace
  2. Adagio - Allegro vivace
7 Variations in E flat major on "Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen" WoO 46 from Mozart's opera Die Zauberflote
Sonata No. 5 in D major op. 102 no. 2
  1. Allegro con brio
  2. Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto
  3. Allegro - Allegro fugato
12 Variations in G major on "See, the conqu'ring hero comes" WoO 45 from Handel's oratorio Judas Maccabaeus
12 Variations in F major on "Ein Madchen oder Weibchen" op. 66 from Mozart's opera Die Zauberflote

Customers Also Like