Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Ben Folds Five The Complete Sessions at West 54th 2LP (Tan & Black "Scuffed Parquet" Vinyl)

Ben Folds Five

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Limited Edition Tan & Black "Scuffed Parquet" Vinyl Double LP!
1997 Classic Performance Featuring "Brick" & "Battle of Who Could Care Less"!

In 1997, PBS began airing Sessions at West 54th, a program far removed from the live music fare aimed at the older set that one usually finds on the network. Instead, Sessions at West 54th brought the hottest and hippest acts to New York to perform live in front of a studio audience. And one of the first acts asked to appear was Ben Folds Five. Which was a very big deal to the leader of the band. "I viewed it as an equal to a classic BBC live music television show," says Ben Folds. "I walked into it thinking, 'This is the one I leave [behind],' because it felt like some kind of a time capsule gig."

Real Gone Music are thrilled to present the complete performance by Ben Folds Five as recorded at Sony Music Studios. This 2-LP release was the first live album to be released from the "vintage" years of the trio (consisting of Folds, drummer Darren Jessee and bassist Robert Sledge). Among the 15 tunes are three from the group's self-titled debut, nine from their then-current release Whatever And Ever Amen featuring their hit "Battle of Who Could Care Less", and three songs that had not been released at the time ("Emaline", "Theme from 'Dr. Pyser'", and their radically reimagined cover of Flaming Lips' "She Don't Use Jelly").

Folds and crew were always a great live band - they even recorded their studio albums in a largely live setting - but this performance crackles with palpable intensity, brought home by this recording's flawless fidelity. But don't take Real Gone's word for it - as Folds says in Bill Kopp's liner notes that accompany the release, "That gig was pretty special."

Now available on tan and black "scuffed parquet" vinyl to match the floor of the studio where it was recorded!


  • Limited Edition
  • Tan & Black "Scuffed Parquet" Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Recorded June 9, 1997
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Liner Notes by Bill Kopp Featuring Exclusive Quotes from Ben Folds


Side 1:

  1. Missing the War
  2. Kate
  3. Battle of Who Could Care Less
  4. The Last Polka

Side 2:

  1. Selfless, Cold and Composed
  2. Brick
  3. Steven's Last Night in Town
  4. Smoke

Side 3:

  1. Philosophy
  2. Emaline
  3. Theme from "Dr. Pyser"
  4. One Angry Dwarf and 200 Solemn Faces

Side 4:

  1. Underground
  2. She Don't Use Jelly
  3. Song for the Dumped

Customers Also Like