Benny Golson This Is For You, John Numbered Limited Edition 180g Import LP (Green Vinyl)

Benny Golson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Audiophile Vinyl LP!
Numbered, Limited Edition Green Vinyl - 1,000 Copies!

This Is For You, John is an album by saxophonist/composer Benny Golson, recorded at Vanguard Studio, New York City in 1983 and released the year after. For the recordings, Golson was accompanied by Pharoah Sanders on tenor sax, Cedar Walton on piano, Ron Carter on bass and Jack DeJohnette on drums. The album features tunes associated with, or inspired by the famous American Jazz saxophonist John Coltrane, including ''Times Past (This Is For You, John)." ''Origin'' is an original, composed by Pharoah Sanders.

This Is For You, John is available as a limited edition of 1,000 individually numbered copies on green colored vinyl. The back of the sleeve contains extensive liner notes by Benny Golson, reflecting meetings with John Coltrane and the inspirations behind the songs.


  • 180g Audiophile Vinyl
  • Sleeve Printed on Heavy Cardboard wtih Linen Laminate Finish
  • Liner Notes on Back Sleeve by Benny Golson
  • Featuring Pharoah Sanders, Cedar Walton, Ron Carter & Jack DeJohnette
  • Import
  • Made in the Netherlands
  • Limited Edition of 1,000 Individually Numbered Copies on Green Vinyl


Benny Golson tenor sax
Pharoah Sanders tenor sax
Cedar Walton piano
Ron Carter bass
Jack DeJohnette drums


Side 1:

  1. Jam the Avenue
  2. Greensleeves
  3. Origin
  4. A Change of Heart

Side 2:

  1. Times Past (This Is For You, John)
  2. Page 12
  3. Vilia

Customers Also Like