Genre: Pop Rock
Label: ADA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Big Star Live in Memphis 2LP (Red Vinyl)

Big Star

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Legendary Big Star Performance on 2LP! First Pressing of 1000 Copies on Translucent Red Vinyl - Black to Follow!

The gig poster read: “BIG STAR IN THEIR FAREWELL U.S. PERFORMANCE.” Luckily, this iconic Memphis band’s homecoming show was nothing of the kind. As Jody Stephens points out in his liner notes, “We played Los Angeles three days later and went on to play together for another 16 years. No one ever said anything about the poster.”

Omnivore Recordings is proud to present Big Star’s only known professionally filmed show in its entirety. Live In Memphis chronicles that October 29, 1994 performance on a 2-LP set (with download card). You will be in the New Daisy Theatre experiencing Big Star Live In Memphis!

The album contains Big Star classics like “Thank You Friends,” “September Gurls,” and “The Ballad Of El Goodo,” Chris Bell’s “I Am The Cosmos,” and covers of T.Rex, The Kinks, Todd Rundgren and more, performed by Big Star: Alex Chilton, Jody Stephens, and Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow from The Posies.

Also included are notes from filmmaker Danny Graflund, Ardent Studios’ John Fry, Jody Stephens, Jon Auer, and Ken Stringfellow in the LP packaging. Per Omnivore tradition, the first pressing of the LP will be 1,000 colored vinyl, with black to follow.

"...the band is tighter, stronger, better than they were on the somewhat tentative Columbia. Here, it's possible to hear the band gel--Alex Chilton and Jody Stephens found a balance with Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow, something that's obvious by the group's subsequent history, but on this spirited show you can hear the gears fall into place and that's worth the price of admission, perhaps more than once." -Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

• First pressing of 1000 copies on translucent red vinyl - black to follow
• 2LP Set
• Gatefold Jacket
• Includes liner notes from members of Big Star and more
• Includes download card

LP 1 - Side 1:

1. In The Street
2. Don't Lie To Me
3. When My Baby's Beside Me
4. I Am The Cosmos
LP 1 - Side 2:
1. Way Out West
2. Till The End Of The Day
3. The Ballad Of El Goodo
4. Back Of A Car
5. Fire
6. Daisy Glaze

LP 2 - Side 3:
1. Jesus Christ
2. For You
3. Baby Strange
4. Feel
5. September Gurls
LP 2 - Side 4:
1. Big Black Car
2. Thank You Friends
3. The Girl From Ipanema
4. Patty Girl
5. Slut

Customers Also Like