Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Omnivore
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Big Star Live At Lafayette's Music Room 2LP

Big Star

$19.99 $29.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
1973 Live Performance On Double LP!
Remastered & On Vinyl For The First Time!

It is well known that Big Star played a one-off promotional show for the Memphis Rock Writer’s Convention at Lafayette’s Music Room in Memphis in May of 1973. It cemented them into legendary status due to the writers who witnessed it and carried the message of Big Star out in their writing, even though the band had only released one album, #1 Record, and were unsure of recording a second after the departure of co-founder Chris Bell. What may not be so widely known is that the trio played the same venue four months earlier with the same power and passion, opening shows for the Houston R&B band Archie Bell & The Drells.

First issued as Disc 4 of the Grammy® Award-winning Keep An Eye On The Sky boxed set, Live At Lafayette’s Music Room sees new light as a stand-alone release, available on CD, Digital, and for the first time, double LP. The performance has never sounded better thanks to new mastering and restoration from the Grammy®-winning engineer, Michael Graves with supervision from fellow Grammy®-winning producer, Cheryl Pawelski.

The 20-track set features material from their debut, #1 Record, songs that would appear on the (not yet recorded) follow-up, Radio City, and choice covers from The Kinks, Todd Rundgren, The Flying Burrito Brothers, and T-Rex. As an added bonus, all formats include a download of a previously unissued interview with Alex Chilton and Andy Hummel from the summer of 1972 with Jon Scott on FM 100. Packaging features new liner notes from Bud Scoppa, who was friends with the band, and in attendance at the 1973 Rock Writer’s show. His most recent work for Omnivore was an integral part of the acclaimed Big Star boxed set Complete Third.

Experience the only known document of Big Star at this pivotal point in their short, but massively influential career. Omnivore is proud to present, Live At Lafayette’s Music Room.

"The quintessential American power pop band, Big Star remains one of the most mythic and influential cult acts in all of rock & roll. Originally led by the singing and songwriting duo of Alex Chilton and Chris Bell, the Memphis-based group fused the strongest elements of the British Invasion era -- the melodic invention of the Beatles, the whiplash guitars of the Who, and the radiant harmonies of the Byrds -- into a ramshackle but poignantly beautiful sound that recaptured the spirit of pop's past even as it pointed the way toward the music's future. Although creative tensions, haphazard distribution, and marketplace indifference conspired to ensure Big Star's brief existence and commercial failure, the group's three studio albums nevertheless remain unqualified classics, and their impact on subsequent generations of indie bands on both sides of the Atlantic is surpassed only by that of the Velvet Underground." - Jason Ankeny,

• Double LP
• First time on vinyl
• Remastered
• New liner notes by Bud Scoppa
• Gatefold jacket
• Limited time download card includes previously unissued 1972 interview with Alex Chilton and Andy Hummel

Side One:

1. When My Baby's Beside Me
2. My Life Is Right
3. She's A Mover
4. Way Out West
5. The Ballad Of El Goodo
Side Two:
1. In The Street
2. Back Of A Car
3. Thirteen
4. The India Song
5. Try Again
Side Three:
1. Watch The Sunrise
2. Don't Lie To Me
3. Hot Burrito #2
4. I Got Kinda Lost
5. Baby Strange
Side Four:
1. Slut
2. There Was A Light
3. ST 100/6
4. Come On Now
5. O My Soul

Limited time download only:
Alex Chilton & Andy Hummel Interview With Jon Scott on FM 100, Summer, 1972*

*Previously Unissued

Customers Also Like