Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Columbia
Additional Artists: George Harrison


Bob Dylan 1970 3CD

Bob Dylan

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary 3CD Set!
74 Previously Unavailable Studio Performances!
Includes The Complete 1970 Recordings With George Harrison!

By Popular Demand, Bob Dylan - 1970 (50th Anniversary Collection) to Be Widely Released by Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings on February 26, 2021

3-Disc Collection of Previously Unavailable Studio Performances includes Complete May 1,1970 Session featuring George Harrison

Columbia Records and Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, announce the forthcoming release of Bob Dylan - 1970, the first widely available pressing of a three-disc collection of long-sought-after studio recordings, on Friday, February 26.

The recordings on Bob Dylan - 1970 were first released in a limited edition on December 4 as part of the Bob Dylan - 50th Anniversary Collection copyright extension series (which began in 2012). The buzz surrounding the 1970 performances, notably Dylan's studio sit-down with George Harrison on May 1, created a demand for a broader release of these historic tracks.

Bob Dylan - 1970 includes previously unreleased outtakes from the sessions that produced Self Portrait and New Morning as well as the complete May 1, 1970 studio recordings with George Harrison, which capture the pair performing together on nine tracks, including Dylan originals ("One Too Many Mornings," "Gates Of Eden," "Mama, You Been On My Mind"), covers (the Everly Brothers' "All I Have to Do Is Dream," Carl Perkins's "Matchbox") and more.

Bob Dylan - 1970 comes housed in an 8-panel digipack featuring new cover art and liner notes by Michael Simmons.

So why is 1970 an enjoyable listen, much more enjoyable than these copyright extension collections usually are? A lot of that is due to freewheeling ease of a band that usually features Charlie Daniels on bass and Russ Kunkel on drums, with David Bromberg, Al Kooper, Ron Cornelius, and producer Bob Johnston making appearances alongside several unknown musicians. Listening to Dylan lead these groups through a loose rendition of Harry Belafonte's 'Jamaica Farewell,' an extended, almost funky jam on 'Long Black Veil,' a friendly boogie through 'Matchbox,' and competing versions of Jimmy C. Newman's Cajun country stomp 'Alligator Man' is a hoot, plus there's something almost touching in hearing Bob tentatively sing Paul McCartney's 'Yesterday' on the same session where Harrison jammed.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine,


  • 50th Anniversary Collection
  • 3CD Set
  • Previously Unavailable Studio Performances
  • Complete Session Featuring George Harrison
  • 8-Panel Digipack
  • New Cover Art
  • Liner Notes By Michael Simmons
  • All Songs Are Previously Unreleased Recordings


Disc 1:

  1. I Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
  2. Universal Soldier - Take 1
  3. Spanish Is The Loving Tongue - Take 1
  4. Went To See The Gypsy - Take 2
  5. Went To See The Gypsy - Take 3
  6. Woogie Boogie
  7. Went To See The Gypsy - Take 4
  8. Thirsty Boots - Take 1
  9. Little Moses - Take 1
  10. Alberta - Take 2
  11. Come All You Fair And Tender Ladies - Take 1
  12. Things About Comin' My Way - Takes 2 & 3
  13. Went To See The Gypsy - Take 6
  14. Untitled 1970 Instrumental #1
  15. Come A Little Bit Closer - Take 2
  16. Alberta - Take 5
  17. Sign On The Window - Take 2
  18. Sign On The Window - Takes 3-5
  19. If Not For You - Take 1
  20. Time Passes Slowly - Rehearsal
  21. If Not For You - Take 2
  22. If Not For You - Take 3
  23. Song To Woody - Take 1
  24. Mama, You Been On My Mind - Take 1
  25. Yesterday - Take 1

Disc 2:

  1. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues - Take 1
  2. Medley: I Met Him On A Sunday (Ronde-Ronde) / Da Doo Ron Ron - Take 1
  3. One Too Many Mornings - Take 1
  4. Ghost Riders In The Sky - Take 1
  5. Cupid - Take 1
  6. All I Have To Do Is Dream - Take 1
  7. Gates Of Eden - Take 1
  8. I Threw It All Away - Take 1
  9. I Don't Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met) - Take 1
  10. Matchbox - Take 1
  11. Your True Love - Take 1
  12. Telephone Wire - Take 1
  13. Fishing Blues - Take 1
  14. Honey, Just Allow Me One More Chance - Take 1
  15. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35 - Take 1
  16. It Ain't Me Babe
  17. If Not For You
  18. Sign On The Window - Take 1, Remake
  19. Sign On The Window - Take 2, Remake
  20. Sign On The Window - Take 3, Remake
  21. Alligator Man
  22. Alligator Man [rock version]
  23. Alligator Man [country version]
  24. Sarah Jane 1
  25. Sign On The Window
  26. Sarah Jane 2

Disc 3:

  1. If Not For You - Take 1
  2. If Not For You - Take 2
  3. Jamaica Farewell
  4. Can't Help Falling In Love
  5. Long Black Veil
  6. One More Weekend
  7. Bring Me Little Water, Sylvie - Take 1
  8. Three Angels
  9. Tomorrow Is A Long Time - Take 1
  10. Tomorrow Is A Long Time - Take 2
  11. New Morning
  12. Untitled 1970 Instrumental #2
  13. Went To See The Gypsy
  14. Sign On The Window - Stereo Mix
  15. Winterlude
  16. I Forgot To Remember To Forget 1
  17. I Forgot To Remember To Forget 2
  18. Lily Of The West - Take 2
  19. Father Of Night - rehearsal
  20. Lily Of The West
  21. If Not For You - Take 1
  22. If Not For You - Take 2
  23. Day of the Locusts - Take 2

Customers Also Like