Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Sony
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Bob Dylan and The Band The Basement Tapes Raw: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 180g 3LP & 2CD Box Set

Bob Dylan and The Band

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g 3LP Box Set Compiled from Meticulously Restored Original Tapes! Includes 2 CDs and Exclusive Booklet!

2016 Grammy Award Winner!
• Best Historical Album

Compiled from meticulously restored original tapes - many found only recently - this 180g 3LP set includes 38 highlights of Dylan's legendary 1967 recording sessions with members of his touring ensemble who would later achieve their own fame as The Band. It also includes an exclusive 12x12'' booklet with extensive liner notes and rare photographs Also included are all the tracks on 2 CDs.

Among Bob Dylan's many cultural milestones, the legendary Basement Tapes have long fascinated and enticed successive generations of musicians, fans and cultural critics alike. Having transformed music and culture during the early 1960s, Dylan reached unparalleled heights across 1965 and 1966 through the release of three historic albums, the groundbreaking watershed single ''Like A Rolling Stone,'' a controversial and legendary 'electric' performance at the 1965 Newport Folk Festival and wildly polarizing tours of the United States, Europe and the United Kingdom. Dylan's mercurial rise and prodigious outpouring of work during that decade came to an abrupt halt in July 1966 when he was reported to have been in a serious motorcycle accident in upstate New York.

Recovering from his injuries and away from the public eye for the first time in years, Dylan ensconced himself, along with Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, Garth Hudson and, later, Levon Helm, in the basement of a small house, dubbed ''Big Pink'' by the group, in West Saugerties, New York. This collective, which would come to be known as Bob Dylan and The Band, recorded more than a hundred songs over the next several months including traditional covers, wry and humorous ditties, off-the cuff performances and, most important, dozens of newly-written Bob Dylan songs, including future classics ''I Shall Be Released,'' ''The Mighty Quinn,'' ''This Wheel's On Fire'' and ''You Ain't Going Nowhere.''

When rumors and rare acetates of some of these recordings began surfacing, it created a curiosity strong enough to fuel an entirely new segment of the music business: the bootleg record. In 1969, an album mysteriously titled Great White Wonder began showing up in record shops around the country, and Dylan's music from the summer of 1967 began seeping into the fabric of popular culture, penetrating the souls of music lovers everywhere. With each passing year, more and more fans sought out this rare contraband, desperate to hear this new music from the legendary Bob Dylan.

The actual recordings, however, remained commercially unavailable until 1975, when Columbia Records released a scant 16 of them on The Basement Tapes album (that album also included eight new songs by The Band, without Dylan).

A critical and popular success, The Basement Tapes went Top 10 in the US and UK, with John Rockwell, of The New York Times, calling it ''one of the greatest albums in the history of American popular music,'' Paul Nelson, in Rolling Stone, praising the tracks as ''the hardest, toughest, sweetest, saddest, funniest, wisest songs I know'' and the Washington Post noting that ''...Dylan has to rank as the single greatest artist modern American pop music has produced.'' Robert Christgau gave the album an A+ rating in the Village Voice, where it topped the annual Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.

"P.S.: Anyone who still thinks Dylan can’t sing (and had I not read some of the comments posted under the Shadows in the Night review I wouldn’t have believed there was anyone left) should listen to the incomplete “Baby, Won’t You be My Baby” followed by “Sign of the Cross”. When Dylan’s voice tears open during “Sign of the Cross”, well you’ve never heard such beautiful, soulful and meaningful ugliness!" - analogplanet, Music 10/11. Sound 7/11

• 180g Vinyl
• 3LP & 2CD Set
• Exclusive 12" x 12'' booklet with extensive liner notes and rare photographs

Bob Dylan
Robbie Robertson
Rick Danko
Richard Manuel
Garth Hudson
Levon Helm
(Lead vocals are sung by Bob Dylan. Harmony and instrumentation are unknown because all involved were multi-instrumentalists and vocalists, and no records remain.)

LP 1 - Side A:

1. Open the Door, Homer (Restored version)
2. Odds and Ends (Alternate version)
3. Million Dollar Bash (Alternate version)
4. One Too Many Mornings (Unreleased)
5. I Don't Hurt Anymore (Unreleased)
6. Ain't No More Cane (Alternate version)
7. Crash on the Levee (Restored version)
LP 1 - Side B:
1. Tears of Rage (Without overdubs)
2. Dress It Up, Better Have it All (Unreleased)
3. I'm Not There (Previously released)
4. Johnny Todd (Unreleased)
5. Too Much of Nothing (Alternate version)

LP 2 - Side C:
1. Quinn the Eskimo (Restored version)
2. Get Your Rocks Off (Unreleased)
3. Santa-Fe (Previously released)
4. Silent Weekend (Unreleased)
5. Clothes Line Saga (Restored version)
6. Please, Mrs. Henry (Restored version)
7. I Shall be Released (Restored version)
LP 2 - Side D:
1. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere (Alternate version)
2. Lo and Behold! (Alternate version)
3. Minstrel Boy (Previously released)
4. Tiny Montgomery (Without overdubs)
5. All You Have To Do Is Dream (Unreleased)
6. Goin' to Acapulco (Without overdubs)
7. 900 Miles From My Home (Unreleased)

LP 3 - Side E:
1. One For the Road (Unreleased)
2. I'm Alright (Unreleased)
3. Blowin' in the Wind (Unreleased)
4. Apple Suckling Tree (Restored version)
5. Nothing Was Delivered (Restored version)
6. Folsom Prison Blues (Unreleased)
LP 3 - Side F:
1. This Wheel's on Fire (Without overdubs)
2. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread (Restored version)
3. Don't Ya Tell Henry (Alternate version)
4. Baby, Won't You Be My Baby (Unreleased)
5. Sign On the Cross (Unreleased)
6. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere (Without overdubs)

CDs 1 & 2:
Contain all tracks found on vinyl