Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Columbia
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band Live in New York City 3LP

Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

3LP Live Set From Summer of 2000!

Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band: Live In New York City, a collection of music recorded during Springsteen's electrifying 10-show reunion concert at New York's Madison Square Garden, part of an extensive world tour which wrapped up in the summer of 2000. The music is once again available on 3LP set.

Chock full of the American anthems that earned the Boss his moniker, Live In New York City is both a reminder that a rock legend lives among us, and a testimony to the fact that this New Jersey native hasn't lost his touch. Nor has The E Street ensemble lost theirs. The current lineup includes Roy Bittan and Danny Federici on keyboards, bassist Garry W. Tallent, the animated Clarence Clemons on sax and drummer Max Weinberg, whom you may also know from "The Conan O'Brien Show" where he moonlights with The Max Weinberg 7. Hammering it out on guitar is, of course, Mr. Springsteen himself, along with Nils Lofgren and Steven Van Zandt. Even the Boss' wife, Patti Scialfa, joins in, standing by her man via acoustic guitar and vocals.

The collection includes classic cuts like "Youngstown" off the highly coveted Ghost of Tom Joad along with pre-Born in the U.S.A. gems like "Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out" and "Jungleland," from his 1975 release, Born to Run. While the majority of the collection retains its original integrity, Live contains a few surprises as well, like a ballad version of -- you guessed it -- "Born in the U.S.A." Preceded by mystical guitar work that is worthy of its stadium setting, the softer rendition of the classic cut provides a great opportunity to actually learn the lyrics -- a requirement for every red-blooded American.

Two new tracks were introduced on tour and will be immortalized forever on the Live In New York City CD. The first is the lively sonics of "American Skin" which made a controversial splash throughout the concert series. The tune was inspired by an event back in 1999 where an unarmed immigrant named Amadou Diallo was shot and killed by New York City cops. The song sparked criticism from police organizations that called for a boycott of Springsteen's performances. Despite the hoopla, the cut was voted one of the best singles of 2000 by Rolling Stone magazine.

On a more positive note comes the second 'then-new' track, "Land of Hope and Dreams." The old-school rocker is a folk-style look at friendship and loyalty. A train-travelin' theme provides a cinematic aspect of the benefits of having a good companion when the chips are down. The feel-good tune was performed as an encore in the tour lineup and usually closed out the show.

Known for his energetic showmanship and intimacy, this concert collection captures all the emotion that has gained him a die-hard following, not to mention the respect and camaraderie that is shared among The E Street Band. On the love tune, "If I Should Fall Behind," a cut off 1992's Lucky Town, Springsteen selflessly shares the mic with his fellow band members. The audience is also asked to get in on the action on several occasions. But then again, Springsteen did vow to "spread the ministry of rock 'n' roll" one way or another.


  • 3LP Live Set
  • Triple gatefold
  • Limited time download


LP 1

Side A:
  1. My Love Will Not Let You Down
  2. Prove It All Night
  3. Two Hearts
  4. Atlantic City
Side B:
  1. Mansion On The Hill
  2. The River
  3. Youngstown

LP 2

Side C:
  1. Murder Incorporated
  2. Badlands
  3. Out In The Street
  4. Born To Run
Side D:
  1. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  2. Land Of Hope And Dreams

LP 3

Side E:
  1. American Skin (41 Shots)
  2. Lost In The Flood
  3. Born In The U.S.A.
  4. Don't Look Back
Side F:
  1. Jungleland
  2. Ramrod
  3. If I Should Fall Behind

Customers Also Like