Genre: Soundtrack
Label: Island
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Ruth Gordon Bud Court
Format: 33RPM,


Cat Stevens Harold And Maude (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) 180g LP

Cat Stevens

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Limited Edition 180g Vinyl LP!
Combines Cat Stevens' Songs with Dialogue & Instrumental Music from the Film!
Audio Remastered at Abbey Road Studios!

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the July/August 2022 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Timed to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the landmark film's release, this new 180g LP version of the soundtrack combines nine Cat Stevens originals as well as - for the first time - additional dialogue and instrumental music from the film. For the new set, previously unheard audio masters were unearthed in the Island Records archive for "Don't Be Shy" and "If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out", and all audio has been remastered at London's world-renowned Abbey Road Studios. This new edition will also feature enhanced packaging including liner notes, lyrics, transcription of movie dialogue, and photos from the Paramount Pictures production.

The surprising thing about the film's soundtrack is that it didn't exist until 2007. In the movie, the songs by Cat Stevens serve as a kind of Greek chorus, reflecting Harold's spiritual development and the evolution of their relationship from friendship to romance. The music is so integral to the story it would have been easy to assume that a soundtrack had existed all along. But Stevens was hitting a peak in popularity when [Director Hal] Ashby approached him about using his songs, and he worried that the soundtrack, which compiled material from the two records he released in 1970, Mona Bone Jakon and Tea for the Tillerman, might confuse his audience. So no official soundtrack album was issued until 2007, when Cameron Crowe assembled a limited reissue on his Vinyl Films label. Now, a different assemblage put together for the film's 50th anniversary finally makes it widely available... you may find much to admire in this collection, which frames a world where love is better than a song, the answer lies within, you think you've seen the light, there's a million things to be, and Lord, though your body has been a good friend, you won't need it when you reach the end.
-Mark Richardson, Pitchfork - Best New Reissue, February 17, 2022
While my heart of hearts would rather have just the Stevens tunes, including the film's joyous theme 'If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out,' this is a great package that sounds fantastic and is packaged with a thick booklet that details the experiences of bringing the music to the movie and its lingering impact on pop culture.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine
There is an irrepressible charm to this soundtrack - think of its tender tone and life-affirming message as an instruction manual for healing a troubled soul.
-Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, July/August 2022, Music 4/5, Sonics 4/5


  • 50th Anniversary
  • Limited Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Dialogue & incidental music from the film - included for the first time
  • Remastered at Abbey Road Studios
  • Enhanced gatefold packaging with embossed text
  • Exclusive 36-page booklet with new liner notes & lyrics
  • Transcription of Movie Dialogue
  • Production Photos
  • Made in Germany


Side A:

  1. Don't Be Shy
  2. Dialogue 1 (I Go To Funerals)
  3. On The Road To Find Out
  4. I Wish, I Wish
  5. Tchaikovsky's Concerto No 1 in B
  6. Dialogue 2 (How Many Suicides)
  7. Marching Band / Dialogue 3 (Harold Meets Maude)
  8. 8 Miles From Nowhere
  9. Tea For The Tillerman

Side B:

  1. I Think I See The Light
  2. Dialogue 4 (Sunflower)
  3. Where Do The Children Play?
  4. If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out (Ruth Gordon and Bud Cort vocal)
  5. Strauss' Blue Danube
  6. Dialogue 5 (Somersaults)
  7. If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out
  8. Dialogue 6 (Harold Loves Maude)
  9. Trouble
  10. If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out (ending)

Customers Also Like