Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Charles McPherson & Steve Kuhn But Beautiful Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Charles McPherson & Steve Kuhn

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

McPherson's Trio Is Joined by Steve Kuhn!

Venus Records is known to highlight little-known veteran American jazz musicians who play excellent music to this day and merit listening by a wider audience. Some of these musicians include Eddie Higgins, Archie Shepp, Steve Kuhn, and Claude Williamson. The newest member added to this distinguished list is Charles McPherson.

Even though McPherson is an alumni of the Charles Mingus Jazz Workshop from the late 60s and early 70s, presently he may be at the top of his game. On this release, McPherson is paired with the first-rate pianist Steve Kuhn. McPherson impresses with his personal tone and shining, emotional playing that is deeply rooted in bebop. This is an astonishing album by an astonishing artist.

"The alto saxophonist's tone has a bit of a bluesy edge throughout the sessions, as if he is reminiscing about a past love...The relaxed mood makes this release perfect for late-night listening." -Ken Dryden,

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Charles McPherson, alto saxophone
Steve Kuhn, piano
David Williams, bass
Leroy Williams, drums

1. Be My Love
2. I Should Care
3. We'll Be Together Again
4. My Ideal
5. I Didn't Know What Time It Was
6. I'll Never Stop Loving You
7. Love Letters
8. But Beautiful
9. Gone With The Wind

Customers Also Like