Chet Baker Chet Baker Sings 180g Import LP

Chet Baker

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Informal

Reissue Of 1956 Classic Remastered On 180g Vinyl LP!

Until this album's initial release in 1956, Chet was known strictly as a trumpeter. A remarkably talented trumpeter. Chet Baker Sings changed that, and Chet became a noted singer, too. Originally produced in 1956 as just a 10" LP, this 2011 reissue features 14 tracks that showcase his strengths at the mic. His warm vocals embrace a song just as his trumpet does. How can you resist his renditions of "That Old Feeling", "It's Always You", "But Not for Me", "There Will Never Be Another You" and later songs such as "Time After Time" and "The Thrill Is Gone". Joining him on the album are pianist Russ Freeman, bassists Jimmy Bond, Carson Smith and Joe Mondragon, and drummers Peter Littman, Lawrence Marable, Bob Neel and Shelly Manne.

"As Gerald Heard's liner notes point out, it's difficult to decide whether Chet Baker was a trumpet player who sang or a singer who played trumpet. When the 24-year-old California-based trumpeter started his vocal career in 1954, his singing was revolutionary; as delicate and clear as his trumpet playing, with a similarly bright and vibrato-free tone, Baker simply didn't sound like any previous jazz singer. His first vocal session, recorded in February 1954 and covering tracks seven through 14 of this disc, is so innocent-sounding it's like cub reporter Jimmy Olsen had started a new career as a jazz singer. The album's first six tracks, recorded in July 1956, are even more milk and cookies, thanks in no small part to syrupy material like Frank Loesser's 'I've Never Been in Love Before' and Donaldson/Kahn's drippy 'My Buddy.' Choices from the earlier session like 'My Funny Valentine' -- arguably the definitive version of this oft-recorded song -- and 'There Will Never Be Another You' work much, much better. The spacious musical setting, a simple trumpet and piano-bass-drums rhythm section, is perfect for Baker's low-key style. Despite the few faults of song selection, Chet Baker Sings is a classic of West Coast cool jazz." - AllMusic

• 180g Pure Virgin Vinyl
• One Pressing Limited Collector's Edition
• Direct Metal Mastering
• Remastered
• Deluxe Inner Sleeves
• Import

Chet Baker, vocals, trumpet
Russ Freeman, piano, celeste
Jimmy Bond, bass on Side A
Carson Smith, bass on B1-B5 & B7-B8
Joe Mondragon, bass on B6
Peter Littman, drums on A1-A2 & A5
Lawrence Marable, drums on A3-A4 & A6
Bob Neel, drums on B1-B5 & B7-B8
Shelly Manne, drums on B6

Side A:

1. That Old Feeling
2. It's Always You
3. Like Someone In Love
4. My Ideal
5. I've Never Been In Love Before
6. My Buddy
Side B:
1. But Not For Me
2. Time After Time
3. I Get Along Without You Very Well
4. My Funny Valentine
5. There Will Never Be Another You
6. The Thrill Is Gone
7. I Fall In Love Too Easily
8. Look For The Silver Lining

All tracks recorded in Los Angeles.
A1, A2 & A5: July 23, 1956; A3, A4 & A6: July 30, 1956
B1-B5 & B7-B8: February 15, 1954; B6: October 27, 1953

Customers Also Like