Come On Up To the House: Women Sing Waits 180g 2LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4/5 Sonics in the March 2020 Best Audio Gear Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Female Vocalists Cover Songs By Tom Waits on 180g Double LP!

One Of TAS' Ten Best Rock Albums of 2020!

Come On Up To The House: Women Sing Waits is a unique compilation full of fresh interpretations of songs by the legendary Tom Waits. Patty Griffin, Rosanne Cash, Phoebe Bridgers, Corinne Bailey Rae, Angie McMahon, Courtney Marie Andrews, and more each put their own unique spin on the gravel-voiced songwriter's work.

"With his gravelly voice, rumpled clothes, and world-weary view, Tom Waits might not strike you as a ladies' man. But Come On Up To the House gathers a talented roster of female fans under the tutelage of producer Warren Zanes of the Del Fuegos, and on these performances Waits' sad ballads are tempered with tenderness...This is a stunning collection that showcases Waits, the empathetic songwriter, while infusing his songs with heartfeltl passion. Who knew his songs just needed a woman's touch? " - Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, March 2020

" hear it all through these women's voices: for me, this is where the whole thing was delivered. I didn't just want to go to church, I wanted to go to their church. In much the way Burt Bacharach songs often seem most fully themselves in the hands of Dionne Warwick, or Dusty Springfield, or Jackie DeShannon, The Shirelles, Aretha, or Karen Carpenter. Or the way standards feel so fully standard in Ella Fitzgerald's rendering of the material. The Waits songs I was hearing through these women were breathing differently and deeply. In just the way Dylan cuts the definitive version but never stakes out the song's territory in a way that leaves no room for majestic covers, the recordings I was gathering were showing me the remarkable strength, the resonance of Waits' stuff. No one took ownership of the material, it was all on loan, still belonged to Tom Waits. But what a series of loans! And that's how it is with the very, very best songs. It all brought me back to the Tom Waits I'd begun to see an outline of as a young man, back to the Waits my mother brought into the family dining room. That strange and beautiful character who seemed to belong to no one. Who I now believe belongs to us all."
- Warren Zanes, producer
"Tom is a true original as a songwriter, singer and arranger. There just is no one like him. Beneath some of the layers of sound and his truly unique vocal phrasing, are some of the most beautiful and heartfelt songs I've ever heard. After some great creative discussions many years back with an old publishing colleague, the concept of focusing on the sheer beauty of these songs by having them interpreted by a group of amazing artists with stunning voices, was a must do project. Fast forward fifteen years later, we were thrilled with the passion and enthusiasm these artists showed when we approached them with the idea, which you can hear in their performances. Truly a musical celebration."
- Scott Robinson, executive producer
This 12 track tribute album features the leading lights of indie folk and Americana performing the timeless flickering streetlight anthems of Tom Waits.
-The New York Times


  • Double LP
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Artwork on Side 4
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Limited time digital download


Side A:

  1. Come On Up To The House - Joseph
  2. Hold On - Aimee Mann
  3. Georgia Lee - Phoebe Bridgers
  4. Ol' 55 - Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer

Side B:

  1. Take It With Me - Angie McMahon
  2. Jersey Girl - Corinne Bailey Rae
  3. Ruby's Arms - Patty Griffin
  4. Time - Rosanne Cash

Side C:

  1. You Can Never Hold Back Spring - Kat Edmonson
  2. House Where Nobody Lives - Iris Dement
  3. Downtown Train - Courtney Marie Andrews
  4. Tom Traubert's Blues - The Wild Reeds

Customers Also Like