Genre: Folk
Label: Stockfisch


David Munyon Pretty Blue CD

David Munyon

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Brian Wilson quotes Munyon as being"probably one of the best songwriters ever!"

All of David Munyon's songs are preserved in his already legendary and voluminous songbook, which in the meantime contains almost 500 unique songs.

Twelve wonderful songs have been carefully chosen from this collection - bedded in a varied mixture of styles from Americana, blues and folk to rock - for the eagerly-awaited studio album "Pretty Blue". These profound and predominantly autobiographical stories tell of stations in David Munyon's eventful life. Each song is a jewel in itself, shining with a dazzling beauty born of David's love and deeply felt beliefs.

Sit back, enjoy and soak in this special listening experience with 'goose-bumps'! David Munyon sings many extremely personal, deeply touching love songs with his very intense voice - a voice which gets right under your skin, and these songs could not have been arranged and instrumented more sensitively or suitably.

An extensive and detailed booklet - with surprising photos from David's private family album and fascinating liner notes about his cryptic lyrics - rounds the whole thing off perfectly and is a fitting accompaniment to this masterpiece.

David Munyon's dream of becoming a famous movie star unfortunately didn't transpire, as we can glean from the booklet, but that is just one aspect. It is an irrefutable fact that within the American singer-songwriter tradition he is on par with such luminaries as Bob Dylan and Townes van Zandt, a fact which far too few music-lovers have discovered for themselves. Brian Wilson quotes Munyon as being "probably one of the best songwriters ever!" Enough said.

• Mastering Monitors: B&W Bowers & Wilkins 801 D
• CD Pre-mastering: Hans-Jorg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics
• Produced and recorded by Gunter Pauler

David Munyon, vocals, guitar
Ian Melrose, acoustic & electric guitar, dobro, low whistle
Lutz Moller, Fender Rhodes
Dagmar Wirtz, backing vocals
Jans-Jorg Maucksch, fretless bass, percussion
Grischka Zepf, electric bass
Bernd Junker, drums

1. Jimi's Guitar
2. Mercy In Her Eyes
3. World Love
4. Pretty Blue
5. I Want Your Love
6. On the Autobahn
7. Hollywood Town
8. Carolina Song
9. Drive to L.A.
10. Atlanta
11. Rock 'n' Roll Things
12. Lover Hold Me Now

Total playing time, 64:50

Customers Also Like