Genre: Folk
Label: Stockfisch


David Munyon Purple Cadillacs CD

David Munyon

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Brian Wilson quotes Munyon as being"probably one of the best songwriters ever!"

David's dream of becoming a famous movie star unfortunately didn't transpire, as we can glean from the booklet, but that is just one aspect. It is an irrefutable fact that within the American singer/songwriter tradition he is on par with such luminaries as Bob Dylan and Townes van Zandt, a fact which far too few music lovers have discovered for themselves.

These 13 Songs from the tireless creative songwriter and guitarist from Alabama, David Munyon, were recorded in Northeim.

The album includes many recently written pieces as well as new recordings of his classic repertoire like "Song For Danko", "Rosa's Cantina" or "Prayers Of Elvis Presley". David Munyon sings with his known intense voice about typical American themes, emotions, and spirituality. Munyon's dramas of the heart recall Dylan, Cohen and Townes Van Zandt, but the huskied honey voice and visions of redemption are inimitable.

The music and arrangements on "Purple Cadillacs" are reminiscent of the music from his album "Poet Wind" from 1998. The album features British musician Mike Silver who, with his guitar and his backing vocals, gives the songs on "Purple Cadillacs" a characteristic color.

• Mastering Monitors: B&W Bowers & Wilkins 801 D
• CD Pre-mastering: Hans-Jorg Maucksch at Pauler Acoustics
• Made in Germany

David Munyon, vocals, guitar
Mike Silver, guitar, backing vocals

1. Riding Around the World
2. Song For Danko
3. Watercolors, Baby For You
4. Rosas Cantina
5. Kansas
6. The Ballad of The Anita Fernando
7. Hendrike's Ford Fiesta
8. Radha
9. Move Back To Amsterdam, The Ballad of Stray Dog
10. Prayers of Elvis Presley
11. Help Me Krishna Song
12. Bright To Brighter
13. Whenever You Fall In Love Again

Total playing time, 68:21

Customers Also Like