Genre: R&B
Label: Atlantic
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Roberta Flack
Format: 33RPM,


Donny Hathaway A Donny Hathaway Collection 2LP (Dark Purple Vinyl)

Donny Hathaway

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Dark Purple Vinyl Double LP!
Beloved Career Retrospective On Vinyl For The First Time!
Includes "A Song For You" & "This Christmas" Plus Duets With Roberta Flack!

Though his recording career was quite brief, Donny Hathaway has continued to be one of the most influential soul artists of the last four decades. He was a talented songwriter with the ability to write songs that provided, in a secular format, the depth of the most heartfelt gospel music; and he was a remarkable song stylist who defined (or redefined) nearly every song he touched.

His tragic death by an apparent suicide in 1979 cut short his career but for an artist who only recorded three solo studio albums, Hathaway left an incredible mark on soul music. Younger soul artists from India.Arie to Frank McComb to Alicia Keys to Kenny Lattimore consistently list Hathaway as among their principal musical influences, and his imprint on their music is clear. He was a perceptive and powerful songwriter and clearly one of the greatest Soul voices ever.


  • Double LP
  • Dark Purple Vinyl
  • First time on vinyl
  • Made in the Czech Republic


Side One:

  1. A Song For You
  2. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
  3. You Were Meant For Me
  4. Back Together Again (with Roberta Flack)
  5. Where Is The Love (with Roberta Flack)

Side Two:

  1. For All We Know (with Roberta Flack)
  2. Someday We'll All Be Free
  3. Giving Up
  4. The Closer I Get to You (with Roberta Flack)

Side Three:

  1. You Are My Heaven (with Roberta Flack)
  2. What's Goin' On (Recorded live at the Troubadour, Hollywood)
  3. The Ghetto

Side Four:

  1. To Be Young, Gifted And Black
  2. You've Got A Friend (with Roberta Flack)
  3. This Christmas

Customers Also Like