Genre: Soul
Label: Friday Music
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Roberta Flack
Format: 33RPM,


Donny Hathaway The Best Of Donny Hathaway 180g LP (Translucent Gold Vinyl)

Donny Hathaway

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Limited Anniversary Edition!
180g Translucent Gold Audiophile Vinyl LP!
Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso From The Original ATCO Records Tapes!

Donny Hathaway will be forever known as one of the leading voices of the 70's soul renaissance and truly one of the more championed songwriters during his short lifetime. Thanks to today's respect and care given to his music by a whole new generation of musicians and fans, Donny Hathaway forever reigns as one of soul's pioneers.

Much like Ray Charles, Otis Redding, and other superstars before him, Donny had the necessary ingredients of a stellar voice/musicianship and songwriting acumen which successfully reached across all gospel, soul, rock and pop genres.

Donny Hathaway created some of the greatest sides ever for ATCO, where he spent his time on earth creating some of the most masterful and beautiful soul music ever waxed.

In 1978, Donny was honored with his first greatest hits collection simply titled The Best of Donny Hathaway. This stunning array of his most memorable hit singles and stellar album staples, most of them featuring Joel Dorn, Billy Cobham, Arif Mardin, Jerry Wexler, Eric Gale, Bernard Purdie, King Curtis, Doc Gibbs and Cornell Dupree, continues to illustrate how important a force he was then and still is today, five decades since!

The Best of Donny Hathaway features a heavy menu of his finest moments like the funk infused "The Ghetto," the definitive balladry of Leon Russell's "A Song For You," and of course his duet chart topper with Roberta Flack "Where Is The Love," which truly opened up a worldwide audience to this sorely missed genius.

Even more classics abound as you'll hear the only vinyl release versions of his beautiful last top charting R&B ballads "You Were Meant For Me" and his standard holiday gem "This Christmas." The fine LP also includes one of the more poignant songs of our time "Someday We'll All Be Free" which is truly a milestone song for this artist.

Friday Music is very pleased to announce for the first time ever on stunning 180 Gram Translucent Gold Audiophile Vinyl, The Best Of Donny Hathaway. Mastered impeccably from the original ATCO Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios and Capitol Mastering in Hollywood, these classic tracks truly reach sonic heights in the audiophile vinyl domain.

To further enhance your Donny Hathaway experience, we have also included the original artwork elements by Sandi Young, the classic illustration of Donny Hathaway by Norman Green, as well as the original back cover studio session information not seen in LP cover form in years!

We feel this stunning Donny Hathaway 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl will be a much anticipated and welcomed revisit to all the soul, funk and rock audiophile vinyl lovers that know great music.

"Take It From Me...Someday We'll All Be Free"


  • Limited Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • Translucent Gold Audiophile Vinyl
  • Mastered by Joe Reagoso from the original ATCO Records Tapes at Friday Music Studios & Capitol Mastering
  • Original Artwork Elements by Sandi Young
  • Illustration by Norman Green
  • Original Back Cover Studio Session Information


Side One:

  1. You Were Meant For Me
  2. A Song For You
  3. You've Got A Friend - Donny Hathaway & Roberta Flack
  4. Someday We'll All Be Free
  5. Giving Up

Side Two:

  1. Where Is The Love - Donny Hathaway & Roberta Flack
  2. The Ghetto (Live)
  3. Valdez In The Country
  4. This Christmas

Customers Also Like