Dorothy Ashby With Strings Attached 1957-1965 180g 6LP Box Set

Dorothy Ashby

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Michael Fremer Rated 9/10 Music, 9/10 Sound!

One-Time Pressing, Limited to 1,000 Copies Worldwide!
Ashby's Studio Albums from 1957-1965 in a 180g 6LP Box Set!
Remastered Directly & Lacquers Cut from the Original Analog Tapes by Kevin Gray!
Manufactured at Pallas!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

"Imagine having been a Black female artist & innovator in the '60s. Imagine being a jazz musician with a focus on the concert harp. Oh, to be alive at that politics. This was Dorothy Ashby, and she was so much more than her musical output. She was a true visionary; her impact is still heard in many genres and eras of music, even today." - Brandee Younger

New Land are proud to present the first multi-disc box set from one of the most overlooked artists in jazz history: Dorothy Ashby. The six LPs contained within this lavish box set will give long-overdue retrospection to her early works from 1957 to 1965, a period that found her represented by some of jazz music's most important record labels: Regent, Prestige, Jazzland, Argo and Atlantic. The Jazz Harpist, Hip Harp with Frank Wess, In a Minor Groove with Frank Wess, Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp of Dorothy Ashby, Dorothy Ashby and The Fantastic Harp of Dorothy Ashby have been officially licensed with the full support of the Dorothy Ashby estate.

All albums were remastered and lacquers cut by the exceptional Kevin Gray directly from the original analog tapes except The Jazz Harpist and Dorothy Ashby from which the original tapes have unfortunately been lost. Manufacturing has been handled by Pallas and all albums have been pressed on 180gm black vinyl and housed inside thick reverse-board sleeves.

At the center of this package is a 44-page book featuring a foreword from Grammy-nominated harpist Brandee Younger. Impassioned and deeply researched liner notes by Shannon J. Effinger provide historical context to Dorothy's life, offering the most in-depth piece of writing ever committed to print on Dorothy as well as interviews with those that knew her best.

Housed inside a deluxe bookshelf-style box with stunning silver-foil detail.

This is 'drawing room' cool jazz that Modern Jazz Quartet lovers will definitely dig (Ashby's take on John Lewis's classic 'Django' on her eponymous album is sure to please). Ashby swings in an understated way like Lewis and on these albums is accompanied by many rhythm greats including Ed Thigpen, Roy Haynes, Art Taylor, Jimmy Cobb and Grady Tate. These are most definitely not arrangements filled with 'you are entering heaven' glissandos! Ashby's playing swings throughout, is never over-adorned, and especially never veers into musical kitsch, something the instrument can lend itself to in the wrong hands. Whether playing covers or originals, Ashby's playing is understated, economical and precise, yet she never loses site of that need to smoothly swing.
-Michael Fremer, Tracking Angle, Music 9/10, Sound 9/10
With Strings Attached, 1957-1965 is a diligent retrospective of the early work of one of jazz's underappreciated talents.
-Fred Thomas,, 4.5/5 stars (The AllMusic 2023 Year in Review - Favorite Archival Releases)


  • One-Time Pressing, Limited to 1,000 Copies Worldwide
  • 6LP Box Set Featuring Ashby's Studio Albums from 1957-1965
  • Albums Included: The Jazz Harpist (1957), Hip Harp (1958), In a Minor Groove (1958), Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp of Dorothy Ashby (1961), Dorothy Ashby (1962) & The Fantastic Harp of Dorothy Ashby (1965)
  • Remastered Directly & Lacquers Cut from the Original Analog Tapes by Kevin Gray (Except The Jazz Harpist & Dorothy Ashby)
  • First Dorothy Ashby Multi-Disc Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Manufactured at Pallas
  • Thick Reverse-Board Deluxe Sleeves
  • 44-Page Extensive Book with Foreword by Brandee Younger, Comprehensive Liner Notes by Shannon J. Effinger & Previously Unseen Photographs & Ephemera
  • Bookshelf-Style Slipcase with Silver-Foil Detail
  • Officially Licensed with the Full Support of the Dorothy Ashby Estate


Dorothy Asbhy harp
Eddie Jones bass (LP1)
Wendell Marshall bass (LP1)
Herman Wright bass (LP2, LP3, LP4, LP5)
Richard Davis bass (LP6)
Ed Thigpen drums (LP1)
Art Taylor drums (LP2)
Roy Haynes drums (LP3)
Jimmy Cobb drums (LP4)
John Tooley drums (LP5)
Grady Tate drums (LP6)
Willie Bobo percussion (LP6)
Frank Wess flute (LP1, LP2, LP3)
Terry Pollard vibraphone (LP4)
Jimmy Cleveland trombone (LP6)
Quentin Jackson trombone (LP6)
Sonny Russon trombone (LP6)
Tony Studd trombone (LP6)


The Jazz Harpist (1957)

Side A:
  1. Thou Swell
  2. Stella by Starlight
  3. Dancing on the Ceiling
Side B:
  1. Aeolian Groove
  2. Quietude
  3. Spicy
  4. Lamentation

Hip Harp (1958)

Side A:
  1. Pawky
  2. Moonlight in Vermont
  3. Back Talk
Side B:
  1. Dancing in the Dark
  2. Charmaine
  3. Jollity
  4. There's a Small Hotel

In A Minor Groove (1958)

Side A:
  1. Rascallity
  2. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
  3. It's a Minor Thing
  4. Yesterdays
Side B:
  1. Bohemia After Dark
  2. Taboo
  3. Autumn in Rome
  4. Alone Together

Soft Winds: The Swinging Harp Of Dorothy Ashby (1961)

Side A:
  1. Soft Winds
  2. Wild As the Wind
  3. The Man I Love
  4. My Ship
  5. Love Is Here to Stay
Side B:
  1. I've Never Been in Love Before
  2. With Strings Attached
  3. Laura
  4. The Guns of Navarone
  5. Misty
  6. The Gypsy in My Soul

Dorothy Ashby (1962)

Side A:
  1. Lonely Melody
  2. Secret Love
  3. Gloomy Sunday
  4. Satin Doll
  5. John R
Side B:
  1. Li'l Darlin'
  2. Booze
  3. Django
  4. You Stepped Out of a Dream
  5. Stranger in Paradise

The Fantastic Jazz Harp Of Dorothy Ashby (1965)

Side A:
  1. Flighty
  2. Essence of Sapphire
  3. Why Did You Leave Me
  4. I Will Follow You
  5. What Am I Here For
Side B:
  1. House of the Rising Sun
  2. Invitation
  3. Nabu Corfa
  4. Feeling Good
  5. Dodi Li

Customers Also Like