Genre: Jazz
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong Porgy & Bess 180g 2LP

Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Michael Fremer's 100 Recommended All-Analog LP Reissues Worth Owning - Rated 34/100!

High Quality 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Fitzgerald & Armstrong Joined By Orchestra Conducted By Russell Garcia!

The dream of creating an American opera such as Scott Joplin’s "Treemonisha", written in 1911, inspired George Gershwin a good twenty years later to amazing compositional feats. While Gershwin had brought his musical and musical comedies with great éclat to Broadway, he wanted his through-composed stage work "Porgy And Bess" to be regarded as a legitimate opera.

No matter whether one regards this exceptional work as "American folk opera" (The New York Times) or as a veristic portrayal of African-American life, central to the work is the expressionistic orchestral music that includes (work) songs, spirituals and elements of jazz, and the cast of singers, which, at the insistence of Gershwin, featured African-American singers.

This stipulation will certainly have suited Verve boss Norman Granz who engaged not only a fresh and lively big band but also a classical string orchestra to support his successful duo of Ella and Louis. Thanks to this superb line-up, the catchy song "I Got Plenty O’ Nuttin’" rolls along sleekly with swing and drive, while "Summertime" and "Bess, You Is My Woman Now" wafts away to the sound of heavenly violins. Listening to this music, you couldn’t care less about the genre or category, just as long as these two genial musicians perform wonderfully arranged material from the American Song Book. The incomparable nasal twang of Armstrong’s solo trumpet seeks out unerringly jazz elements where you would least expect them.

"Yes, this was recorded in stereo in 1957 (the stereo edition had to wait until 1960 for vinyl release) but it hardly sounds dated—unless by "dated" you mean a wide screen event with the orchestra spread mostly left and right bathed in carefully applied reverb leaving Ella and Louis plenty of center stage to fill and fill it they do! On side four's medley "Here Come De Honey Man", "Crab Man", "Oh, Dey's So Fresh and Fine (Strawberry Woman)" Ella is bathed in enough reverb to drown her. It's an usual choice. Just as that fades out, Louis begins singing equally bathed in reverb, "walking" across the stage. The sequence takes on a dream like feel." - analogplanet, Music 10/11, Sound 9/11

• 180g Virgin Vinyl
• Double LP
• High Quality Pressing
• Pure Analogue Audiophile Mastering
• Stereo

Ella Fitzgerald, vocals
Louis Armstrong, vocals, trumpet
Russell Garcia, conductor

LP 1:

1. Overture
2. Summertime
3. I Wants to Stay Here
4. My Man's Gone Now
5. I Got Plenty O' Nuttin'
6. Buzzard Song
7. Bess, You Is My Woman Now
LP 2:
1. It Ain't Necessarily So
2. What You Want Wid Bess?
3. A Woman Is a Sometime Thing
4. Oh, Doctor Jesus
5. Medley: Here Come de Honey Man / Crab Man / Oh, Dey's So Fresh and Fine
6. There's A Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon For New York
7. Bess, Oh Where Is My Bess?
8. Oh Lawd, I'm On My Way

Recording: August 1957 in Los Angeles and October 1957 in Chicago

Customers Also Like